Daily Prompt–Nightmares


Describe the last nightmare you remember having. What do you think it meant?

I don’t have many nightmares. I dream a lot, but I only remember bits and pieces of them and often have trouble putting them into a somewhat cohesive whole, or as cohesive as a dream sequence can ever be. But I rarely have nightmares. I did have one nightmare several years ago that has stuck with me ll these years and I can remember it as clearly as if I had it last night.

nightmareI was riding in the back seat of a convertible car. My former husband, my first ex-husband, was driving the car and his girlfriend (he was married at the time and cheating with this woman) was seated in the passenger’s seat. We were driving down Partridge Street in Albany, NY. It is near my ex-husband’s home that he shared with his wife and where my daughter was living with him at the time. I was living with my second husband in Texas at the time and knew what was going on with my ex-husband and his mistress in Albany. My daughter was very upset, because he father was a teacher at her high school and so was his mistress. In fact, she was one of my daughter’s teacher’s.

Anyway, back to the dream. We were coming down the hill on Partridge Street and going back up the hill and my ex-husband was driving far too fast. I begged him to slow down, but he wouldn’t listen to me. He kept talking to his girlfriend and ignoring me. He turned away from his house when we got to Whitehall Road. Instead of making a left turn, he made a right turn. I told him he had to go home to get his daughters. He said he was taking his girlfriend home. (I didn’t know it at the time, but she actually lived not far from there, and to get to her home, you had to make a right turn.) I told him he was neglecting his children. He said they could take care of themselves. His younger daughter was only nine years old. She couldn’t take care of herself. And his older daughter was very embarrassed by the way her father and his girlfriend were carrying on. I was becoming quite agitated in the car and upset that I couldn’t get him to listen to me. He just kept laughing and joking and kept on driving. Then I woke up.

I think the dream meant that I knew what was going on with my ex-husband in Albany, but that was nothing that I could do about it. I knew it was a bad situation but I had no power to change it or to influence what my daughter would do to deal with the situation or how my ex-husband would handle the situation. And that is indeed what happened. My daughter moved out of her father’s house when his wife threw him out; she moved into my relatively empty house that was waiting to be sold and skipped a lot of school and didn’t graduate with her class and had to go to summer school in order to get her diploma. He moved in with his girlfriend and when his divorce became final, he married her, on the same date he had married his second wife (that didn’t go over well with the third wife, as you can imagine; he of course didn’t have a clue he had done such a thing). In another weird aside, the third wife has the same birthday as me, and we are now very good friends. She eventually cheated on him and is now happily married with a little girl. He didn’t want any more children; he was quite a bit older than she was and was physically abusive and is also an alcoholic. She was lucky that she got out when she did. It was a bad relationship, very emotionally and physically abusive. I understand why she cheated. But he was hurt. He finally apologized to me for cheating on me with wife number two and said he now realized the pain he put me through. I told him I had forgiven him long ago. So things seem to come full circle.

I got a little off topic. That was the last nightmare I can remember. I should be having nightmares about the IRS and how I’m going to be paying my taxes but I’m not. You can’t get blood from a turnip. They get what they get. I still remember the nightmare about the car and how out of control I felt as we drove down Partridge Street. And indeed everything was out of control. It was one of my prophetic dreams. But it was a nightmare.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Nightmare and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–Nightmares

  1. I don’t have nightmares very often, Maire, usually I have dreams about flying (they’re the most vivid) or being in a large house / building sometimes with lots of people, sometimes on my own. I’d love to know the message behind the house dreams I have – however, I’m perfectly happy with the flying ones! I think your dream, or nightmare, was one of those that ‘fill in the blanks’ if that makes sense – especially with the right turn.

Leave a Reply

