Thursday, or Wednesday, Hodgepodge–Depends On How You Look At It


Wednesday Hodgepodge–A Bit Late, As Usual

1. When were you last on a ‘mountaintop’?  You may answer in the literal or figurative sense of the word. 

I’m going to go with the literal meaning of mountaintop. It was quite a very years ago. I’d gone hiking with my then musician boyfriend, who was quite the outdoorsy sort, decided to hike to one of the mountain peaks in the Catskill Mountains in New York State. He also liked to ski in those mountains. So off we set to hike up this mountain. I wasn’t in the best of shape, but I made it up the mountain, sweating like a pig. The view from the rocks at the top was truly spectacular, and the glades along the trails through the forests on the way up and down made one feel as if you were in a beautiful green cathedral. It was a near religious experience. I was glad i went on the hike.

2. Do you establish and maintain a strict budget in your household?  What is one piece of financial advice you would offer someone just starting out on their own? 

No, I have no strict budget, but I should. i always spend too much and bite my nails toward the end of the month waiting for my checks to come in because I’ve overspent. I have absolutely no discipline, though I am getting better. I would give someone starting out to make a budget and be careful about where they spend their money and be sure to put some in savings for a rainy day.

3. Cherries-yay or nay?  Cherry pie-cherry cola-black forest cake-or a scoop of Ben and Jerry’s Cherries Garcia…pick one.

I LOVE black cherries. Cherry pie is a favorite, but I prefer to just eat handfuls of black cherries. My grandmother would always buy me black cherries from the fruit-and-vegetable vendor when I stayed with her and I would gorge myself on them.I love Cherry Garcia ice cream, but I can do without cherry coke. Black forest cake is a favorite of mine.

4. Should you ever discuss religion or politics with people you don’t know?

You probably shouldn’t even discuss religion or politics with people you DO know if you think it will dissolve into a screaming match. These are such sensitive subjects and the beliefs are very strongly held. This ground should be trod very carefully. Some ground rules should be set before the discussions begin. No name calling, etc. Agree to disagree. I think it’s really best to steer away from these topics until you know the people better.

5. When you take a road trip do you prefer to be the driver or the passenger?  Where were you headed on your last road trip?

I prefer to drive. I also read the map. I’m usually alone. My last road trip took me from Schenectady, NY to Utica, NY to Vernon, NY back to Albany, NY where I flew back to San Antonio. I knew pretty much where I was going except in Schenectady but I found my way, even in the dark. I have a good sense of direction.

6. If we peeked inside your closet, what colour would we say is most prevalent?

Most of my kurtis (tunics) and dresses are blak and blue, with some green thrown in for good measure. I like blue in all shades and black goes well with everything. I also like green. There’s some purple in there, too.

7. Who’s your favourite senior citizen and why are they special?

My favorite senior is Thomas at OASIS, a senior educational center I go to. He teaches courses on opera and plays. He is so knowledgeable and makes learning about these subjects so much fun with his DVDs and the historical background about the operas and plays. I especially like when we study one-act plays and take roles and read the plays, acting them out. He’s an amazing man for 86 years old. I love him to bits.

8.  Insert your own random thought here. 

I’m having trouble deciding what knitting project to do next. I have been thinking of doing a sweater but it will take a while and I think I want to do something quick. But the scarves I’ve been looking at are a bit complicated and i don’t particularly want complicated so maybe I will go with the sweater which is easy, just long.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thursday, or Wednesday, Hodgepodge–Depends On How You Look At It

  1. The Hook says:

    You know something, Marie?
    I’m lucky to know you; you’re a special lady.
    Be well.

  2. Mmmm… cherry pie… I’ve not had that for ages, Maire – can you now guess what I’m getting this weekend? And cherry garcia ice cream sounds equally divine – although I don’t actually know what it is!

Leave a Reply

