Daily Prompt–Comedy of Errors (Not Such A Comedy–An Apology and A Retraction)


Murphy’s Law says, “Anything that can go wrong will go wrong.” Write about a time everything did — fiction encourage here, too!

My post on Monday was a comedy of errors, and not such a comedy because it hurt my daughter. As you may recall, it was an attempt to address the cliché “A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush.” I attempted to equate the payments my daughter and cousin make on their respective loans with the total amount they owe me. It was a lame example at best but the only one I could come up with.

Unfortunately, in an attempt to lengthen the post, I made some statements about my daughter and her financial situation that I learned were untrue and I’d like to retract them here and apologize to her here. I hope she reads this post. I knows she sees my posts and reads them. I hope she sees this one. I accused her of spending money on a pool instead of repaying her loan; she informed me that she has three years payments and interest free on the pool. I also accused her of taking expensive vacations; she informed me that the vacations are perks that her husband receives from his boss and his work. I also accused her of having season tickets to the San Antonio Spurs basketball games; this is not true. The tickets also come from his work; they sometimes get tickets, as well as to the San Antonio Missions and the San Antonio Rampage games, but these are no sure thing. They don’t spend their own money on them. These are perks they receive from her husband’s work, where he has to drive a hour each way every day and he works very hard.

They are spending their money on raising my daughter’s twin daughters from her first marriage with very little help from their father. He pays minimal child support and doesn’t even send them a birthday or Christmas card, let alone a gift. They make a nice Christmas and birthday for the girls and make it possible for them to be able to be on the Pep Squad at their high school, which isn’t cheap and paid for their braces for the teeth, which also wasn’t cheap. The girls are well taken care of, though not extravagantly; they don’t ask for much, but teenagers cost a lot to raise. They are of driving age, and the lessons for driving also cost a bundle. They got those as a birthday gift. My daughter is an excellent mother, the best mother I know. Her husband is an excellent father figure for the girls; he treats them as he would his own because for all intents and purposes, they ARE his own. They are both wonderful parents.

I am truly sorry for the pain I caused my daughter and her family, and the inaccuracies I wrote in the post on Monday. I wish I had never written it. I made a huge mistake in an attempt to write to a stupid prompt. It was a comedy of errors that was no laughing matter. I really hope my daughter trolls Facebook and reads my blog today. I hope she forgives me.

My statements about my cousin still ring true, however. They were no laughing matter either.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in A Comedy of Errors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daily Prompt–Comedy of Errors (Not Such A Comedy–An Apology and A Retraction)

  1. I’m sorry for the mix up. I hope your daughter forgives you.

    Remember to delete the original post.

  2. I’m not sure, but I may have posted my comment in the wrong place. I hope all works out with your daughter. I have three daughters of my own, and we have our misunderstanding too, so I think I know how awful you are feeling right now.

  3. MissFourEyes says:

    I hope everything works out with your daughter

  4. Susan says:

    I’m feeling bad for you, too, Maire, because I can imagine how painful this is.

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt–Perspective | My Life, Such As It is

Leave a Reply

