Daily Prompt–Back To The Future


A service has been invented through which you can send messages to people in the future. To whom would you send something, and what would you write?

I would send a message to my granddaughters in their old age, the age I am now, as a grandmother. I would tell them about living their lives as an older adult.

I would urge them to love their grandchildren without limit, to care about them as they have never cared about anyone else. I would tell them to make sure that they talk to their grandchildren as often as they can, to take them on outings, to dinner, to movies if those things are still around.  Talk to them about their lives, what is important to them, encourage them to get good educations. Foster open communications with them. Find out what interests them and become interested in some of those things yourselves.

Keep yourselves busy and interested. Have hobbies and things that you like to do and go do them. Make sure that some of these things are physical. You need to be physically active as well as mentally active in your life. Learn a new language or a new skill. Join a team sport. Take a vacation with friends. Do things you like to do and want to do.

You also need to give back to your community even after you’ve retired. We all need to make a difference in our communities. Find a place to volunteer your time. Find an organization or organizations that could us your time and talents, and then offer your services to them. Be the change you want to see in your community. If you like children, there are numerous opportunities to work with children in education or social services. You could work with older adults or shut-ins. You can volunteer to drive people to appointments. You can help with elections. You can help at libraries or museums. You can work at the Food Bank or The Red Cross or with the homeless. There are so many things you can do. You just have to look for the opportunities.

Don’t neglect your spiritual lives either. Find a church or temple or mosque or meditation center. Feed you spiritual center. We all have one. Center yourselves. That way you’ll be able to balance the rest of your life.

This is my message to you, my dear grandchildren from your grandmother who has been gone these many years. But now that you are my age, you will understand what I have to tell you about old age. Take my advice. You won’t regret it.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Back to the Future and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt–Back To The Future

  1. Nicole Marie says:

    They are lucky to have a grandmother like you. You have so much to teach them, to pass down to them to make them beautiful, strong women. Lovely post, as usual.

  2. A nice message to send, Maire. I like posts like this!

Leave a Reply

