Daily Prompt–Places


Beach, mountain, forest, or somewhere else entirely?

Well, I am of two minds today. I love the beach. For vacation, I love to go to the seashore and walk along the beach and listen to the roar of the ocean waves. I love to walk in the sand, to sit in the sand dunes and feel the wind from the ocean breezes in my hair and on my face as I gaze out to sea. I love the vastness of the ocean, the play of the light on the water. The force of the waves as the wind blows over them when a storm is coming on.

BeachHere in Texas, we have only sandy beaches. I miss the rocky cliffs of Maine where we would often summer when my daughter was young. There the ocean is untamed. The water dashes upon the rocks and you can better feel the power of the ocean as you sit on the rocks that jut into the sea and feel the ocean spray mist over you on a hot summer’s day. I love Maine. But I love Texas too. I love being able to walk for miles and miles along the beach in the water’s edge and not meet a soul in October; to be able to sit on a dune dune and watch the container ships as they make their way from Houston out into the Gulf of Mexico and the fishing boats as they leave Port Aransas for the day carrying their charter customers for a day of sea-fishing and the cruise ships that leave Galveston on their way to exotic Caribbean ports of call.

san-antonio-txBut I said I was of two minds, and I am. I would miss the cities too much if I had to stay on the seashore or the coast all my time. I need the hustle and bustle of the city to sustain my life. I need art and culture. I need libraries. I need my work with children. I need to visit cities like Rome, Barcelona, Paris, Montreal, New York, Chicago. I could not just live forever on the beach. I need the stimulation of the cities. And I need my own city, San Antonio. For all its faults and foibles, I have a life and work to do here. I have a purpose here. So I would have to return here to fulfill my purpose.

So for me, places are two. The beach and the city. The city and the beach. The two cannot be separated. I have to have both. That’s the only way I can be happy. A little of each, if you please. Thank you very much.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–Places

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt–No, Thanks | My Life, Such As It is

  2. I love the beach, Maire. I love water!

Leave a Reply

