Six Word Saturday


Six Word Saturday

Six_Word_Saturday

Spent five hours watching dance performances.

Well, almost five hours. It felt like 15 on my backside sitting on those metal seats. But it was well worth it to see my beautiful granddaughters perform with their Pep Squad  in three numbers in the Team Spirit competition at one of the local high schools. Luckily, their performances were spaced out at two-hour intervals, not four-hour intervals, so my daughter and I got to leave at 1 o’clock, after arriving around 8:30 a.m. and paying $10 for the privilege of seeing the girls perform. I did tape their performances with my phone, so I can watch them again. I rather enjoyed their performances, even though their coach chastised them for their “spacing issues” in the first performance, and my one granddaughter was quite upset about it. My daughter spent quite a bit of time texting her and trying to calm her down before the next performance. Poor things. They arrived there at 7:00 a.m. and would not leave until probably 9:00 p.m. that night when the awards where given out.

Even if they didn’t win an award, I enjoyed their performance. They were stars in my eyes. I can still see their bright smiling faces in my mind’s eye as they bounced along to “Hey, Mickey,” “Titanium,” and “Walk Like An Egyptian.” It was worth the sitting. I love my granddaughters.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Six Word Saturday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Six Word Saturday

  1. What a great way to spend the day 🙂

Leave a Reply

