Daily Prompt–Perspective


Write about the last disagreement you had with a friend or family member — from their perspective.

It wasn’t a disagreement really. It was a misunderstanding on my part, I guess. It happened last week or the week before. I had written a post which has since been deleted where I accused my daughter of some things that wren’t true. I made assumptions because I didn’t have the correct information, for one reason or another, mainly because we hadn’t really been talking that much about our lives to each other, really, and things got misconstrued on my end. My fault, really, because I’m the one who made the assumptions without checking out the information or asking if it were true (see how I worked the subjective in there?). At any rate, it caused a lot of discord within my family. My daughter was angry and hurt, rightfully so.

She wrote me a long email where she refuted my entire blog–well, the part where I accused her of things. She explained the truth of the accusations and the next day (the second day after the blog), there was a blog opportunity to apologize to her and correct my mistake. So I did. The prompt was about a comedy of errors, but I turned it into “no laughing matter.” The issue needed to be addressed and I addressed my inaccuracies in the post as my daughter did, point by point, not to the specificity that she did, because that wasn’t necessary, but to the extent that I mentioned them in the first blog and apologized for the impression that I had left the readers with–that my daughter was not paying her way and was using her money frivolously, which she isn’t. She is thrifty and wise, and a good mother. I had left readers with a very wrong impression and she was rightly upset by the impression I had left. I didn’t blame her. I would have been upset, too, if someone had done that to me and I was not guilty of those charges. Even if I had been guilty of the charges, I would not have been happy about seeing our family’s “dirty laundry” aired in public. I should know better than to write about personal family issues in a pubic blog. Dumb. Very dumb.

So there you have it. There description of the last disagreement I had with my daughter. With my apology in my blog and apologies to her by email and texts, we were able to understand that we need to start communicating with each other a little more so I don’t make ridiculous assumptions like I did. I need to learn the truth and not be afraid to ask her questions about things. We need to keep the lines of communications open between us. That’s really the most important thing. We realize how much we love each other and how much we love her daughters. We want nothing to come between us and them. We made up and went to their dance performances on Saturday and spent the better part of the day together watching them (well, waiting to watch them) perform. We enjoyed each other’s company. We are mother and daughter. We care for one another. We love each other. Nothing can change that. Even my dumb actions in writing my blog.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Perspective and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–Perspective

  1. As hurtful as it was all round, you have both learnt from the experience and come closer, and that is a good thing.

    We all make mistakes and we must forgive ourselves for them, especially if we have done our absolute best, as you have, to put things right.

  2. Debbie says:

    It takes quite a person to admit they were wrong. You seem like quite a lady.

Leave a Reply

