Daily Prompt–Seven Days


You wake up tomorrow morning to find all your plans have been cancelled for the next seven days and $10,000 on your dresser. Tell us about your week.

This is an interesting situation. Part of that money is going to have to go to the IRS to pay my taxes. I know I owe money to the government for my taxes and I don’t know how I’m going to pay for them, so some of this money is going to Uncle Sam. But the rest is going on vacation with ME!

First, I’d like to go back to New York State to visit family and friends whom I haven’t seen in awhile. It’s been about three years since I’ve been back to New York and I’d like to see my brother and sister again. I’d like to see my little grandnieces and grandnephews and my nieces and their husbands. I’d like to see my friends in New York as well, and the places where I grew up. It’s good to maintain a connection to the place where you lived and where you have your memories. I’d also like to stop in Buffalo and visit my nephew and a friend there, and go to New York City to see a friend and to take it the city. I haven’t been there in a long time and I miss the city.

I’d like to go to Europe. I know it’s short notice and I haven’t much time, but I’d like to go just for a brief visit. Maybe to London. I’ve not been there before, but maybe this is a good time to go. I have just a few days to spend in London and I would spend them seeing the sites of London, visiting museums, shopping (not necessarily buying), having tea, visiting British bloggers (Britain’s not too big). So yes, I think I’d like to spend the rest of my money and my vacation on a trip to Britain.

And there, being somewhat realistic, is my seven days and the $10,000, gone in a blink of a eye. It went by much too fast, didn’t it? It did for me.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Seven Days and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–Seven Days

  1. Money in your mind can go a lot further than in reality, Maire… but it still goes just as quick!

  2. How you made me laugh at your opening paragraph! You are a pragmatist 🙂

Leave a Reply

