Wednesday Hodgepodge–On Thursday, Again


Wednesday Hodgepodge

Thank you once again to Joyce for bringing us a brilliant set of questions in her weekly Hodgepodge. 

1. My real life friends came through with another question this week so thank you real life friends.  When you’ve eaten in a restaurant do you complete their comment card? Do you take online surveys highlighted at the bottom of store receipts?

 

Usually I do complete the comment card or call in the survey on the ticket on store receipts. I figure that’s the only way they are going to get feedback, good or back, on their service, so I tell them about my experience. I also do the online thing. It only takes a few minutes and I know how important feedback can be, having worked in an organization where feedback was considered important.

2. The (US) ban on women in combat was lifted at the end of January.  It will probably be next year before specifics are worked out but it’s been reported over 200,000 front line positions will eventually open up to women.  Your thoughts?

Well, it was inevitable. Women go through the same training as men and are fast becoming a large number of the armed forces not to be ignored. They are in needed places in the armed forces and can’t be “worked around” for much longer in non-front line roles. They are already in positions which put them near front lines. It’s just a question of semantics, really. Women will not be able to move into higher positions of power unless they have combat experience, either. So these positions need to be open to women. There is no reason they shouldn’t be. Other countries have women serving in combat and it works. No one should have to serve in combat but they sadly do have to.

3. In looking back at all the blog posts you’ve written, what’s your favorite post title?

I sort of like “You’ve Been Owned!” It was a very short post about the US Supreme Court hearing a case regarding the ownership of materials that are posted on the internet for sale, for example Craig’s List, eBay, etc. I don’t know if they ever ruled on it or not. I certainly supported the right of people to own the things they placed on the internet for sale rather than the internet site owning those items.

4. What’s worse-overly permissive parents or overly protective parents? Did your own parents lean toward the permissive or the protective category? If you’re a parent where do you fall?

I think overly protective parents are worse than permissive parents in the long run. Children have to eventually become independent and have to learn to thin and act for themselves, and they need freedom to do that. Overly protective parents never give that freedom to make mistakes and to learn from them. That’s how we learn. It’s all right to make mistakes. We need to learn from them. Permissive parents do allow for that, although they may allow too much of it. I was probably too permissive. I trusted my daughter a bit too much, and she really took advantage of me and my good graces. But she also learned from her mistakes, I think. She is protective of her daughters but she is rather permissive with them. They are allowed to do a lot. They don’t ask for a lot, but she would allow it if they asked.

5. Candlelight-moonlight-firelight-bright lights in the big city….which one’s your favourite?

I like them all, but I particularly like moonlight. There’s something truly special about the moon. I love taking the dogs out at night and early in the dark hours of the morning when the moon is out and I can walk in the moonlight. It’s magical.

6. Dr. Seuss’s birthday was celebrated on Saturday. What’s a favourite book you remember (Seuss or otherwise) from your childhood?  Did books play an important role in your growing up years?  Explain.

Dr. Seuss had not written his famous books when I was a child, but books played a large part in my childhood. I loved The Bobbsey Twins, Heidi, Alice in Wonderland, Grimm’s Fairytales, all sorts of rhymes. I loved comic books, Little Golden Books which my father bought me when he went grocery shopping. When I was about ten, my parents bought me for Christmas All About Archaeology. This book became my favorite book of my childhood and I have it even to this day. It sparked a life-long love of archaeology, particularly Egyptology. My mother also belonged to a Book-of-the Month club which sent a biography of one of the saints each month and I devoured these books as well. I loved library day each week at school when we could take books out of school library. My mother also took us to the city library where I carried out stacks of books each month. I would sit for hours in my bedroom on my bed reading. Books were my constant friends and my escape from the reality of a depressed and volatile mother and squabbling siblings.

7. To quote Dr. Seuss…

“From there to here, and here to there, funny things are everywhere.” 

from One fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish


Share something funny you’ve recently read, seen, or heard.

I’m having a difficult time thinking of something funny. The entire book  The Sweetness At The Bottom Of The Pie: A Flavia de Luce Mystery is funny. Told in the voice of eleven-year-old Flavia de Luce, a young sleuth, it is a rollicking tale about a missing postage stamp and a dead man from in the cucumber patch of the Buckshaw garden. Flavia has a witting way about her and a quick turn of phase, as she refers to her two sisters as The Weird Sisters as they weep and wail as their father is arrested for the murder of the man found in the garden. She takes great delight in chemistry (she has pictures of great chemists on her mirror the way her sisters have pictures of movie stars and writers) and has distilled an elixir of poison ivy that she has embedded in a lipstick of her sister’s and is watching for signs of fever blisters on her sister’s lips. Finally they appear after days of waiting. Success! The writing is marvelously funny.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Last weekend I went to my granddaughters’ dance performances. They performed in three dances spread over roughly five hours–and I spent those five hours on a hard metal bleacher seat reading and watching other dance performances, some very good, others not so much. The girls did well, I thought. I was proud of them. I recorded their performances on my phone and will probably transfer them to my computer. I think this is the last year they will be on Pep Squad. I think their elective next year is Spanish instead of Pep Squad, for some obscure reason. They love dancing, but they were angry with their coach this year, because she blamed them for being “off” on their spacing for one of the dances. I couldn’t see it, but she hollered at them. Such is the life of the young.

 

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wednesday Hodgepodge–On Thursday, Again

  1. Candlelight; firelight; moonlight… that’s a tough one, Maire!!!

Leave a Reply

