Book Challenge Update–20


The 20th book I read for the book challenge was Family Fallacies by Kassandra Lamb.

I had a tough time slogging through this book. It was billed as a mystery but it was not a thrilling book. Not by a long shot.

family-fallaciesThis is one of a series of Kate Huntington mysteries. It was my first and last. Kate Huntington is a psychotherapist whose husband Eddie was murdered. She bore their child Edie after Eddie’s death and she is financially set for life with Eddie’s million-dollar life insurance policy. She has met a man, a private investigator named Skip Canfield, whom she is attracted to, and part of the book revolves around the attraction she feels for him and her loyalty to the dead Eddie whom she still talks to.

Kate begins to receive anonymous notes at her office about destroying families. She is working with two particular clients who report repressed abuse memories and she wonders if the notes are coming from their family members or from a group that is opposed to therapists who, they claim, plant false memories. Skip and his partner Rose are investigating these family members and this group. Then Kate’s niece is kidnapped from the mall and drugged. She is not injured, but her brother and his wife won’t cooperate in letting police question her or letting hospital staff examine her. In the meantime, Kate gets over her problem of “talking to” Eddie and she and Skip get together and eventually decide to get married.

When one of the family members decides to sue Kate, Kate decides to sue the family member back and her client also decides to sue her family member. Kate has a good friend who is a lawyer who practices in her building so it all works out nicely. But then this family member who is suing ends up shot dead and Kate is among the suspects, as is Skip. There is some drama surrounding this, including a custody arrangement to make Skip guardian of Edie should Kate be arrested, but it is quickly resolved.

Then the tension builds to the Christmas season. It is Kate and Skip and Edie’s first Christmas together. Kate is summoned to the office by one of the two clients they suspect of having sent the notes. The tension builds as the action shifts from the session with the client to the other client’s family to Skip and Rose trying to get to Kate as they know something is wrong.

And then finally–the end. The resolution. You could see it coming a number of pages before it hit. Finally it happened. It wasn’t really believable, but there it was. I could believe the one thing about the client but not about her family member. It was ridiculous. But that was what the author had written. But that was not the end of the story. No. There was more. There happy ending of Kate and Skip continued. There was more good news. At the very end of the book. On the last page. Oh, good. I was glad I was finished with Kate and Skip. I’m done.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Book Challenge Update and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Challenge Update–20

  1. The Hook says:

    Your review has me intruigued.
    Well done!

Leave a Reply

