Daily Prompt–VIP


Who’s the most important person in your life — and how would your day-to-day existence be different without them?

I can’t name just one person who is the most important person in my life. There are three who are the most important people in my life: my daughter and my two granddaughters. My life would definitely be different without them in it.

First, my daughter. For so many years, through all her growing-up years, it was just my daughter and I. Her father had walked out on us when she was two years old. He remained a part of her life every Wednesday night throughout her life and during the summers he brought her to his parents’ house on Saratoga Lake for long weekends. We would go to Montreal for a week in the summers when she was young because she liked baseball and we would travel there to watch the Expos play a week at home and see the sites of Montreal. We would also go to Cape Cod and then visit my aunt and uncle in Rhode Island on the way back. Later, when she got older and was interested in ballet, she went to ballet schools in the summer. I would drive her to auditions in the winter and then to her school to spend a month or six weeks in the summer somewhere in the northeast. Then I got married and moved to Texas, and she lived with with her father. And then she married her high school sweetheart. And the world changed.

Sabrina went to Okinawa to be with her husband in the Marines. She became pregnant while she was there with twins and then came home just before he came back. She stayed with me for awhile before they moved to San Diego and I drove her out to San Diego so I could give them my car since they did not have a car. The deal was they would pay me a little each month for the car but my son-in-law informed me he was not going to pay for the car. I should have driven the car back but I didn’t. I felt sorry for them because they had no money and were about to have the twins. I went back out for three weeks when the twins were born. My son-in-law was a complete ass. He was out drinking with his buddies and at one point assaulted my daughter. It was awful. I knew the marriage was not going to last but what could I do? She stuck it out for several more years.

They were moved to Hawaii. The girls were two. I flew out to see them. Sabrina was very distant. She spent most of her time on the computer and I sat on the couch. Then she napped and the girls napped and I took a long walk. Chris, her husband, saw me walking. He brought me home. Then he went drinking. He stayed out all night. This was normal. Their marriage was collapsing. I went home. In June I got a call. Chris had fallen asleep and the girls had wandered away from home and gotten lost. The military police had been involved. CPS had almost been called. She wanted to leave and come to San Antonio. I agreed to help her. That’s how she got to be here.

Sabrina and the girls have been here ever since. She went to community college here and got her degree. She got good jobs and supported herself and her daughters. She bought a house by herself. She has taken good care of her daughters and of herself. She has made a good marriage to a good man. She has made a good life for herself and her daughters. She is always available to help me if I need her. If I’m sick, she brings me food or medicine. She brings me to the girls’ activities. She buys me nice Christmas and birthday presents and includes me in family activities. She is a good daughter. She has overcome many obstacles to get where she is today. I am extremely proud of her. She is probably the most important person in my life. She takes me to doctor appointments when I need a designated driver for procedures. That is a huge responsibility. I really need her and I’m glad she is always there. I love her with all my heart. I love her husband too. She chose a good man to be her husband and father to her two girls. He is a better father than their own father. She chose well.

The other two important people in my life are my two granddaughters. They are twins, seventeen years old. They are now juniors in high school and quite busy with their lives, but they always have time for me. We make arrangements each month to go to the movies and out to eat. We talk about what is going on in their lives, their friends, school, home. I buy whatever they happen to be selling from school for Pep Squad and they often advise their mother on gift to buy for me. They are kind and thoughtful girls. I love them with all my heart and my life would be greatly diminished without them in it.

I need these three wonderful young women in my life. They are more important to me than anything else in the world. Sabrina has been the focus of my world for over three decades and the girls for almost two. I hope I have many more years to call them the center of my world. They are the bright stars of my universe. I love them all.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–VIP

  1. The Hook says:

    My wife, daughter, father-in-law and mom.
    They make my life complete.
    But you make me smile, so you’re important too!

Leave a Reply

