Daily Prompt–Comfort Zone


What are you more comfortable with — routine and planning, or laissez-faire spontaneity?

I’m a person who needs structure. I need routine and planning in my life. I need to know what I’m going to be doing on a given day at a particular time. I’m not very good with spontaneity.

Part of the reason is budgeting. I live on a fixed income and I need to be careful of my finances and plan carefully what I’m going to spend my money on. So I need to plan ahead or at least think about what I’m going to spend money on before I spend it. If I don’t I end up dipping into my retirement savings and that has been sorely depleted in recent years by a number of emergencies. So I’ve become very conscious of how much money I’ve been spending lately and have been trying to really temper my spending. That means doing some planning about what activities I do. For example, this week I have planned two trips to the movies with my granddaughters. It’s Spring Break week and they have vacation this week. They weren’t going away and were looking toward a week of cleaning and doing homework, so I thought two breaks of going to the movies and going to lunch would be a good diversion for them. But I budgeted for it by not spending the money on anything else.

I live rather frugally most months. I save what I can. I have taxes to pay. I have dogs to care for. I have to buy food and pay for insurance and pay for my car and credit card bills. That doesn’t leave a lot left over for frills, so I have to budget carefully as to what I’m going to do with my extra money for the month. I like to do things with my granddaughters and often spend the money on them. So it takes planning and budgeting, not spontaneity.

That’s just the way my situation is. That’s the way life is for me.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Comfort Zone and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–Comfort Zone

  1. The Hook says:

    I’m comfortable with planning. But my plans rarely unfold as expected…

Leave a Reply

