Daily Prompt–Impossibility


“Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.” – the White Queen, Alice in Wonderland.

What are the six impossible things you believe in? (If you can only manage one or two, that’s also okay.)

I can’t possibly come up with six impossible things that I believe in. Well, maybe, a few. The first one is a biggie, though. I really believe in the inherent goodness of people. I believe that all people are basically good. But somewhere along the way, people get off track and turn to the dark side and evil gets into them. That’s how evil gets into the world. But people don’t start out being evil. Children don’t start out evil. They wind up evil because of things that have been done to them and they react to these things. Sometimes people react differently to the same thing. What makes some people evil will inspire others to good. I don’t know why but it does. And for some reason some people just become evil for no apparent reason. I don’t know why that is, but I think if we look hard enough, we would find out. But I do believe that all people begin as basically good people and most people are basically good people, not evil. Most people, if you treat them well, will treat you decently too. The Golden Rule still hold. “Do Unto Others As You Would Have Them Do Unto You.” We need to fill this world with compassion to see the good in people made manifest.

Another impossible thing I want to believe in is that I will not owe as much money as I think I will owe to the government for my taxes. Maybe I am fooling myself, but I did not take as much money from my IRA this year as I did last year so maybe I don’t owe as much this year. At least I hope not. I don’t have the money to pay my taxes so I’ll be paying off my taxes all year long. That will not be pleasant.

I also believe that my car will last another ten years. This is probably wishful thinking on my part. Probably it will last maybe five years. That would at least be acceptable, but I would like it to last longer. That would be impossible, but I would like it to happen.

I would also like for my granddaughters to be able to go to The University of Texas at Austin and The University of Texas at San Antonio Health Sciences on full scholarship. This is impossible, but I’d like for it to happen. Or for them to go to Texas A & M. They want be a nurse and an orthodontist. So one of them needs to go to graduate school for long years of training. She will rack up piles of debt. I would like to spare her that, hence the scholarship. And for my other granddaughter, too.

I would like for my IRA to increase significantly due to the rise in the stock market. This is also impossible, given what I have in it. It could not possible increase enough, given what I have there. But I can dream.

I can win the lottery. That is really impossible since I don’t play the lottery. But again, we are looking at the really impossible here. And in my dreams I believe it is possible even if I don’t play it. So there.

So I did come up with several impossible things. I surprised myself. I was stretching a bit. They really are quite impossible. But you did ask for impossible. There they are.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Impossibility and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

