Daily Prompt–INTJ


Do parties and crowds fill you with energy, or send you scurrying for peace and quiet?

I am not a big party goer. I don’t like crowds and I am uncomfortable in large groups. I dislike making small talk with people I don’t know and even with people I know. I am not at all an extrovert. I am very much an introvert. I much prefer the peace and quiet of much home, reading my books or my ereader or watching television or knitting.

I really dislike luncheons and parties and crowds of any sort. In a couple of weeks I have to go to a volunteer appreciation luncheon for the volunteer organization of which I am a member. I am a peer coordinator in this organization and it is expected that I will attend. There will be probably 200 people there. I am not looking forward to it. There will be speeches and I’m sure the lunch will be nice, but I will have to make small talk with the other volunteers and will have to talk about our cases and about the organization. I never feel comfortable doing this. I never seem to know what to say. I stay quiet most of the time and it becomes awkward. I feel awkward. I really hate it. My supervisor always tries to put me at ease. She seems so comfortable at things like this, but I never am. I wish I could be, but it seems the older I get, the worse I become. There is a breakfast coming up, too, but I will not go to that. It is at a country club and I don’t even know how to get to that place so I’m not going to that so early in the morning. I’ll go to the luncheon because I have to, but I won’t go to the breakfast.

So given a choice, I would prefer to stay home and enjoy the peace and quiet. I do like to go out sometimes. On Mother’s Day, my daughter and her family usually take me and my son=in=law’s mother and family out to lunch. I am a little ill at ease but not too bad. They are nice people and I like to be around them. I don’t know if they will go this year since his mother has been ill. I hope she is able to come. She is a nice person. I enjoy being with my daughter and her family for dinner. I have a coupon for dinner for four at a Mexican restaurant and we should use it soon. That will be a nice time. Maybe we’ll go on a Sunday afternoon. I would enjoy that.

I’m not a complete recluse. But I prefer to stay home, given a choice of going to a party or staying home. As I said, I’m not a party goer. Guess I’m just an introvert and always will be.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in INTJ and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–INTJ

  1. MissFourEyes says:

    I’m an introvert too. Social gatherings make me very uncomfortable. I don’t mind a small group of friends, but parties are the worst.

  2. Carrie Rubin says:

    “Guess I’m just an introvert and always will be.”—I have come to that conclusion about myself as well…

Leave a Reply

