Daily Prompt–Stranded


You’re stranded in a foreign city for a day with no money and no friends. Where do you go; what do you do?

I could have a good time in a foreign city for a day with no money and no friends. Cities are wonderful places to be even with no money. You can go to parks, for example, and people-watch. That is an excellent diversion and a pleasant way to spend some time. Parks are beautiful places. The flowers and trees and shrubbery are always magnificent, especially the flower beds in parks. I love the variety of flowers that are planted in city parks. When I lived in Albany, New York, in the Spring the parks were planted with thousands of tulips imported from Holland and they were splendid indeed. They were so fragrant and pretty, so colorful. The parks in New York City are also very beautiful no matter what time of year you visit. I’m sure it is the same for parks in any foreign city that I would visit. So I would be sure to visit some of the parks and spend a good part of my day there and watch the people coming and going.

I would also go windowing shopping and wander around the shops. It doesn’t cost money to look in the shops. You can spend hours just wandering in and out of stores around the city, looking at all the goods that are for sale. You can also look for free days at museums and art galleries. I would do that and find free days at galleries and museums and spend some time looking at the paintings and sculptures there. I love art, and galleries are usually free. On certain days and at certain times, museums are often without admission fees, too. Often their sculpture gardens are open to the public. I would take advantage of those.

There are many things to see and do in a foreign city. I would take advantage of those things. If I got hungry, I would find a soup kitchen and get a bowl of soup and bread. I’m not proud. I’m hungry. I have no money. I would do whatever I had to do. I could survive in a city for a day with no money and no friends. It would be an adventure.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Stranded and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

