Daily Prompt–Local Flavor


Write a piece about a typically “local” experience from where you come from as though it’s an entry in a travel guide.

I come from Utica, New York, a small city in the center of upstate New York State. It used to be a mill town but the mills have all moved south. It was also the home of Remington Arms. It has a small zoo that we would visit in the spring and summer. It has a rather nice golf city golf course and it actually has its own city ski slope in the middle of the city. On July Fourth, they shoot off fireworks from the hill where the ski slope is . There is a band shell at the base of the ski slope and local musicians play there and entertain the crowds as they wait of the fireworks to begin.

Utica Club BrweryBut the local experience I want to tell you about is the Utica Club Brewery. The local beer is called Utica Club. They have a brewery here and it has been here a long time and they give tours of the brewery. It is quite the tourist attraction. They give you an overview of the history of beer making in Germany and in the United States, then take you into the rooms where the mash is prepared. Then you go into the fermenting room. You get to see the large vats where the hops and barley are fermented. It is very cold in there. The vats are copper. The process is explained in great detail. My neighbor worked at the brewery. When we went on the tour one time, we saw him at work there.

Then you go into the bottling facility. It is quite something to see. The beer is funneled into the bottles and the labels are pasted on and the bottles are capped as the bottles wiz along in a fast line. Then they are packaged and loaded on trucks for delivery. At the end of the tour, you are taken into a 1900s room where you are given a mug of beer (if you are over 21) or a root beer, which they also make. It is a lovely room, very Victorian. It is quite a pleasant way to spend a hot summer afternoon and one of the highlights of a trip to Utica.

Don’t miss the trip to the Utica Club Brewery. You’ll be glad one visited this remarkable place.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Local Flavor and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

