Daily Prompt–Judgment Day


If you were to judge your favorite book by its cover, would you still read it?

This is the book cover from my favorite book, The Beautiful Mystery: A Chief Inspector Armand Gamache Mystery by Louise Penny.

Beautiful mysteryAs you can see, the cover reflects an aura of both beauty and mystery. The book concerns a murder that takes place in an enclosed monastery in the deep woods of Québec. Chief Inspector Gamache and Inspector Beauvoir are called to the monastery to investigate the murder of the choir master. All the monks are suspects. But the monastery is in a beautiful setting in the forest. The light streams in through the high windows through the stained glass and illuminates the chapel in magical ways. The light also streams through the forest and plays through the trees and makes the place a scene of beauty. The book cover reflect this beauty in the streaming of the light through the trees in the forest. I quite like it and is exactly what I would expect to see about this book. If I had seen this cover first before reading the book, I certainly would have wanted to read this book because it would have said to me, “Beauty” and since the name of the book is The Beautiful Mystery, it would certainly have made sense.

So the answer to the question is yes, I would certainly have read this book by looking at its cover. The cover really reflects the book within.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Judgement Day, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–Judgment Day

  1. The Hook says:

    Cool post – again!

Leave a Reply

