Wednesday Hodgepodge–Late Again, What’s New?


Wednesday Hodgepodge – 27th March

1. What are your plans for Easter?  Are you cooking a big lunch or dinner?  Dyeing eggs?  Attending a sun rise service?  Eating too much chocolate? 

I really have no plans for Easter. I am Muslim so I don’t celebrate the holiday. Last night I gave my granddaughters their Easter gifts: a chocolate rabbit each; a snow globe, one a bunny and one a chick; and $20 each. They will like the money best, of course. I also arrange this week to have flowers delivered to my aunt for Easter. She will get those on Friday. She is my mother’s last living sister and I love her dearly. My daughter doesn’t celebrate the holiday as far as I know. She and her family may be going to church with her husband’s family if they asked them. His family is quite religious. I may buy Peeps. That is the one candy I love, aside from chocolate. I only like dark chocolate. I’m quite picky about my chocolate but I love my Peeps.

 

2. What is something you feel too young to do?

I’m not sure I feel too young to do anything. I’m rather old at the moment.
3. ”Love is patient, love is kind.  It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud…it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs…”

Of the characteristics mentioned in the Biblical definition of love, which do you find most difficult to live out and why?

I guess I find the keeping no record of wrongs the most difficult to live out. I do forgive most things, but sometimes I have a difficult time forgiving. There are people I haven’t forgiven and I have kept a record of their transgressions against me. I tend to dwell on these things and don’t forgive them. I know this isn’t love, but I find I don’t have much love in my heart for these people. I should, according to the Bible, but I don’t. I need to work on it.
4. What’s a springtime flower you associate with your childhood?

Lily of the valley. We had them growing wild in the woods around our house. I have no idea how they got there. But there they were, in the edges of the woods. Tiny white bells  peeking out of the brown woods. So pretty and fragrant.
5. Ever sung karaoke?  If so what’s your go-to song?  If not, and given the opportunity, would you?

No, never! I’ve never even come close. And would never do it if given the opportunity. I have sung once in public, at a church wedding with a friend. It was horribly stressful and I’d never do it again. I don’t think I sing well at all.

6. What is something you keep in a basket?

I keep papers in baskets, books. I keep stamps in baskets. I keep brushes, combs in baskets. I keep toiletries in baskets.
7. When was the last time you felt foolish?

I felt foolish when I wrote a post about how my daughter and my cousin were slow in paying off their loans. I made some assumptions about my daughter’s situation that weren’t true and that were hurtful to her and made me look and feel foolish. I then wrote another post where I retracted my statements and apologized to her. I learned not to make assumptions and to talk to her rather than to assume things and leave myself looking the fool.
8.  Insert your own random thought here. 

 The weather here has been quite changeable the past few weeks. We actually had a 95F degree day that set a record. Then the other morning, it was 33F degrees, nearly freezing, and the high the other day was only 57F degrees and it was quite windy and felt very chilly. For Easter, at least it is supposed to be around 80F degrees so a little above normal. Maybe the threat of frost is over. I wish we could get some rain, though. We are in a terrible drought. We have had so little rain that we are under threat of even more severe water restriction near the end of April. The long, hot summer looms.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wednesday Hodgepodge–Late Again, What’s New?

  1. Your gifts to your granddaughters are sweet and kind.

Leave a Reply

