Daily Prompt–Trading Places


Have you ever wondered what it would be like to be a member of the opposite sex for a day? What do you think life would be like?

I actually have often wondered what it would be like to be a male for a day. I think my life would be somewhat different.

For starters, I’d probably think more about sex than I currently do. Not that I don’t think about sex. I do. I think about sex and the fact that at the moment, I’m not sexually active. I don’t have a partner. So sex doesn’t occupy a lot of my thoughts day and night. But I have heard that for men, sex does occupy much of their thinking whether they are in a relationship or not. Is this true? I have no idea. But if it is, then if I were a male, I would be thinking more about sex.

If I were a male for a day, I’d probably feel like going to the gym. Right now my exercise is walking the dogs for a half hour in the morning and in the evening. But if I were a male, I’d probably want to get in a good work out at the gym on the weight and the other equipments. When I was married, my husband always liked to do that. So maybe I’d like that as well.

I would probably also like to watch the San Antonio Spurs’ basketball game on the television or even go to their game if they were in town. I might even go to the San Antonio Rage hockey game if they were in town. I like hockey and haven’t been to a hockey game in many years. This would be a good opportunity to see a hockey game. Men like to go to sporting events, and since I am a man for a day, I might as well go to something.

And to cap off my night on the town, I might even stop off at a bar on the way home for a beer. Normally I wouldn’t drink because I am a Muslim, but I am shedding my femaleness and my Muslimness for one night and becoming male, and trying to have some male bonding and so I’m stopping by a bar to have a beer with friends on my way home. Well, maybe a root beer so I don’t have a DUI on my driving record when I wake up tomorrow morning and revert back to myself.

Personally, I think I will stay as female. I’m comfortable as myself. I don’t really want to spend even a day as a male. Not really. Maybe just in my mind.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Trading Places and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

