Daily Prompt–Five A Day


You’ve being exiled to a private island, and your captors will only supply you with five foods. What do you pick?

I would choose my five favorite foods, I think. They aren’t necessarily the healthiest foods but I’m hoping that I won’t be exiled on the island forever. Just for a while.

The first food that I would like to have with me on the island is rib eye steak. I love rib eye steak because it is very flavorful and juicy. It is also easy to cook and I’m assuming that I would have to cook my own meals. I could grill the steak over a fire. I like my steak rare and I would cook it rare. (I hope there would be utensils.) At any rate, that would be my first food. It would be high in iron and would keep me from becoming anemic and would supply protein.

I would also like to have asparagus. I love asparagus. They are a green, leafy vegetable so a high in nutrients that are essential to good health, vitamins and minerals. Besides, they taste good and can also be grilled. So I would like to have them on the island. I would like the very young, thin ones, please.

Potatoes would also be on my list of foods that I would like to have with me on the island. Potatoes are very versatile. You can fry them, bake them, boil them, mash them, make them into casseroles. They are a starchy vegetable that will help fill you up so that you will not be hungry and they also have vitamins and minerals.

I would also like to have bread on the island. Bread is the staff of life. Grains are important to our diet. Fiber is an important part of our life. I love bread and would like to have it as part of my diet on the island.

I would also like to have cheese as the fifth food on the island. It is a diary product and high in calcium and vitamin D. It would go well with the bread and would provide a good breakfast and lunch meal. It would provide a whole protein when eaten with the grain of the bread.

I think that these five foods–steak, asparagus, potato, bread, cheese–would provide me with a reasonable and varied diet while I was on the island. At least I wouldn’t be eating the same thing at each meal. And I would be getting my nutrient and vitamins and minerals and trying to stay healthy.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Five A Day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

