Daily Prompt–The Social Network


Do you feel like you “get” social media, or do you just use it because that’s where all your friends and family are?

I do not pretend to “get” social media. I am on Facebook and Twitter. I have people following me on Twitter but I rarely tweet anything on Twitter and I rarely even check the tweets on Twitter. I follow too many people on Twitter. I am on Facebook mainly to network and keep up with my friends and family. I am also on Google +. I don’t know why since I really don’t understand it and never go into it or make use of it.

facebookI’m also on Linkedin with a zillion other people. I don’t know why I’m on that either, since I’m out of the professional world for the most part. I am part of CASA, Court Appointed Special Advocates for children, which is a professional group, although it is a volunteer group. I suppose I could listen that as an organization that I belong to.

Facebook is the social media that I use the most. As I said, I use it mainly to keep up with friends and family. I have friends in the Japanese Chin community and I can keep up-to-date with them through Facebook. When something, good or bad, happens in the community, Facebook is the medium through which we spread the news. For example, when the husband of one of our foster moms died suddenly back in January, she informed us and we organized a fund to help her pay for his headstone and also let people in the surrounding area know when the funeral would be. We have also kept up with her and supported her.

I keep up with friends back East in New York through Facebook. I don’t get to see them very often. I have friends in New Mexico whom I also keep in contact with through Facebook. I can find out that my friend’s basketball team that she is coaching is playing in the regional playoffs and I can wish them good luck. The son of my friends can invite me to his high school graduation through the message function. I have a young friend in Greece who messages me often.

My relatives and I can have contact through Facebook. That is really my primary reason for being on Facebook. Most of my relatives are in Virginia, New York, and Massachusetts. Several are in California. When winter comes, I can keeps tabs on how my relatives are faring through the winter storms through Facebook and wish them well. My one cousin is a nurse and I like to hear about her day. My sister posts pictures of her many grandchildren and my nieces post pictures of their children. I can also make sure to wish my nieces and nephews Happy Birthday, also my many cousins. It keeps my far-flung family closer to me.

So even though I don’t really “get” social media or use it much to post status updates (I do post my WordPress posts), I keep up-to-date with my friends and relatives on Facebook. That’s the most important thing to me.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in The Social Network and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–The Social Network

  1. MissFourEyes says:

    I like the way social media allows us to never miss a moment in our friends/family’s lives. But, no, not a huge fan. I’ll go look around a bit and logout.

  2. The first part of this post could have been written by me 🙂

Leave a Reply

