Daily Prompt–The Transporter


Tell us about a sensation — a taste, a smell, a piece of music — that transports you back to childhood.

Smells take me back to my childhood. The smell of Nocezema, for instead, reminds me of my grandmother. She never used soap on her face. She always used Noczema to wash her face. She felt it made her face smooth and silky. So the smell of this face cream always reminds me of her.

fried-chickenThe other smell that automatically transports me back to my childhood is the smell of fried food. In my home, we ate a lot of fried foods. My mother is from the South and they often fried foods. She would especially fry chicken. I love fried chicken. My mother’s fried chicken was particularly good. She double coated it. That meant that she dipped it in egg wash and then in flour, then in egg wash again and back in flour. She also made her own french fries. We had steak and home-made french fries every Sunday for noon dinner after church. My father would grill the steak outside on the outdoor fireplace and my mother would make the home-made french fries. It was my job to peel the potatoes and put them in the salt water to soak until it was time to fry them in the Crisco. They were absolutely delicious!

We also ate other fried foods. My mother made fried sausage, fried pork chops, fried frog legs, fried fish, and my personal favorite, fried apple fritters. In fact, even after I was grown and had moved away from home, one time I was going to be at my childhood home for my birthday and my mother asked what I’d like fro my birthday. I answered without hesitation, “Apple fritters.” My mother would cut up apples into rings and dip them in a sweet flour batter and then fry them and coat them in granulated sugar. These sweet treats were melt-in-your-mouth good. My mother also periodically made doughnuts. She made cinnamon-sugar and powdered sugar doughnuts. On Fridays, my father would stop at Jean’s Beans Fish Fry and bring home fried haddock for our dinner and cold salads such as cole slaw and macaroni salad. I loved their fried haddock and when I had been ill, I especially wanted this meal when I was feeling better. I still have cravings for this meal even though it has been 50 years since I’ve eaten it. I really miss it.

Fried foods have been a big part of my life. I know they aren’t very good for you, but they played such a large role in the comfort foods of my childhood that it is hard to put that out of my mind. When I go to a county or state fair even today, I still like to get fried bread or funnel cake with powdered sugar. I really like that. I like it as a treat, not as a steady diet. So now I don’t have fried food as much as I used to. But I still like fried foods and probably always will.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in The Transporter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–The Transporter

  1. The Hook says:

    I’m now starving!

  2. oh, my Nana used Noxzema as well, i remember that beautiful deep blue glass container we always washed out and used as spare change jars. i enjoyed your memories very much, my mom cooked fried food and there is no better smell wafting from the kitchen than fried chicken. i might have to try your double dipped recipe, thanks for the share.

    i did the Daily Prompt as well, my first.
    http://whocouldknowthen.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=895&action=edit

    have a wonderful day and keep the light.

Leave a Reply

