Daily Prompt–Share The Love


Tell us about another blogger who has influenced your own online journey.

This blogger has not influenced my style nor has he influenced what I write about. But he encourages me when he comments on my blogs. I loves his blogs (he has two of them) and wouldn’t miss them for anything in the world. He has the most amazing sense of humor of anyone out there in the blogosphere.

No matter what happens on his job, he is somehow able to keep it all in perspective and see the humor in things. This is not an easy task, because he has a job serving the public in a high profile job where you have to be “on” all the time. You are supposed to be gracious and smiling all the time to the public. This has got to difficult and must take its toll. But he channels it into humor through his blog and entertains us all with his stories about the foibles and escapades of the guests at his hotel. And we laugh ourselves silly at his wonderful stories at “You’ve Been Hooked“.

We also have a raucous good time laughing at “The Book Of Terrible” where he regales us with his lists of ten terrible things about Kim Kardashian (are there only ten?) or ten terrible things about Spring Break. Sometimes it is ten terrible things about the flu, such as this past winter when his wife and young daughter came down with that malady but he remained untouched and played nurse. Or it could be ten terrible things about the hotel renovations that are now occurring at his hotel and we all know how frustrating those can be. But he manages to insert such humor into his ten terrible things lists that once again we are rolling on the floor with our sides splitting.

Who can this be with these two marvelous blogs? Why only–The Hook, of course. While I’ll never write like you, Hook, you have influenced me. I look forward to opening my mail and seeing that you have written a new post and I head on over there to read it immediately. Even when you are guesting, and that’s more frequently these days and I for one am glad to see it, I make sure to visit and check it out. You’re one in a million, Hook, and I’m so glad you’re blogging.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Share The Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Daily Prompt–Share The Love

  1. Pingback: A Trip to BBW, And A Heartfelt Tribute to Yours Truly. | You've Been Hooked!

  2. The Hook says:

    You’ve touched my heart, young lady.
    I can never thank you enough, but I have reblogged this on “You’ve Been Hooked!”
    Thank you again for being a wonderful person and such a big fan. You’ve lifted my spirits.

  3. MissFourEyes says:

    This is so sweet. The Hook is pretty awesome!

  4. I would have to agree. I’m glad I found The Hook as well.

  5. Jennifer says:

    I too look forward to opening my mail and see this posts sitting quietly and waiting for me. They are always the first one s I open. Lovey tribute to an awesome man 🙂

  6. robincoyle says:

    The Hook is amazing. I lurv his blog. Thanks for the reminder about his second blog.

  7. Hello mairedubhtx

    Before I began conceptualising the theme of my blog, I had decided that my blog would be based on two things:

    1. Sharing information that I had gleaned off … oh, anyone, anywhere; information that helped me better myself in any little way.

    2. Sharing something funny when I liked how I FELT as I enjoyed whatever-it-was.

    A few months into blogging, I realised I could do more to be nice to people and hopefully, brighten a few moments in their lives. Just the way many others who I did not know personally had done, and still do.

    This post of yours is yet another demonstration of my (now) third reason to blog.

    >Daily Prompt–Share The Love
    – Love the title. It’s rich in meaning. We can share the lurve every day AND in so many different ways!

    >You’re one in a million, Hook, and I’m so glad you’re blogging.
    – I hear ya, mairedubhtx. I’m a Hook-er, too! Wait. That doesn’t sound right. Meh. Hook can smell a, um, sham strumpet when he spots one. 🙂

    Kate

  8. I agree wholeheartedly………Hook is the best!

  9. TBM says:

    Hook is pretty awesome in my book as well.

Leave a Reply

