Daily Prompt–Third From The Top


Head to “Blogs I Follow” in the Reader. Scroll down to the third post in the list. Take the third sentence in the post, and work it into your own.

I write many posts about books that I have read. Many of these posts are about mystery books because out of all the genres of books, I like mysteries the best. But that doesn’t mean that I read mysteries exclusively. My tastes vary. I often read novels, contemporary novels, literary novels, historical novels. I also read biographies. I find these very inspiring oftentimes. Sometimes they are sobering. I also read nonfiction. For example, right now I am reading the Dalai Lama’s book How To See Yourself As You Really Are. I was intrigued by the title and, as I get into the book, am amazed at how His Holiness takes such a personal topic but makes it so universal.

I also read historical fiction, such as Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker, which was based on an historical person. I also read historical books, though not often. That’s where the Daily Prompt comes in today. The Third Blog on my Blog Roll is Beauty is a Sleeping Cat and the third sentence in her blog was this: “Timothy Finley wrote novels, plays, short stories, and non-fiction.” Beauty was writing about the author of The Wars, a Canadian book about World War I and she was writing a review of this book. I don’t often read books about war. Sometimes I’ll read a book of historical fiction that is set in a war period. I have read some books about the Gulf War and I have read Barbara Tuchman’s The March of Folly which is about the mistakes made by leaders which have led to wars throughout the centuries. This was an excellent book, in my opinion. I read it many years ago but it has always remained in my mind.

So I have fulfilled the intent of the Daily Prompt for today and incorporated the third sentence of the third blog of my blog roll into my post for today’s post by telling you a bit about my reading habits. And as it turns out, I got to read another blogger’s review of a good book.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Third from the Top and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt–Third From The Top

  1. Caroline says:

    That’s the first time I’m quoted in a Daily Prompt. Thanks for the experience.

  2. The Hook says:

    Well done – both of you!

Leave a Reply

