Six Word Saturday


Six Word Saturday

Six_Word_Saturday

I Received A Charm From Holland

I belong to a postcard swapping group called Postcrossing. It is a free group that consists of people all over the world who register their names and addresses. They get the names and addresses of other people to whom they send postcards and when those postcards are received, then they receive postcards back from other people across the global who have been given their names and addresses. For example, I can have now 21 postcards traveling at any one time. Once one of my postcards has been received, I can send another one. Some days I receive one or two postcards. One day last week, I received eleven postcards. That was the most I have ever received in one day. When I receive a postcard, I must register its ID country code and number, which identifies its sender, and write a brief message of thanks to its sender. I also scan in the picture on the postcard (if the sender has not already done so) to add it to my “wall” and if I really the postcard, I can mark it as one of my “favorites.”

Yesterday, I was surprised by an enveloped, a 5″x7″ envelope from Holland, with a Postcrossing ID. I opened it to find a large note card with a lovely letter, a postcard from a town near the Belgium border, and a sweet little metal charm of shoe on black chord. Damiette from Holland had sent all things to me. The notecard was of fabric art because she knew I enjoyed fabric art and she wrote about my conversion to Islam. She told me about her family and her life in Holland and her town near the Belgium border in the south of Holland. She wrote that she always includes a little charm in her packages. How sweet is that? And what a pleasant surprise is was when I opened that package yesterday. In the Postcrossing statistics we receive each month, they say, “Days Your Mail Box Was Happy.” Well, yesterday really was a day when my mail box was very happy indeed.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Six Word Saturday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Six Word Saturday

  1. Valerie says:

    Postcard exchanges are so fun! Getting mail is so rare, that receiving a package is super exciting! 😉

Leave a Reply

