Daily Prompt–Turn, Turn, Turn


For many of us, winter is blooming into spring, or fall hardening into winter. Which season do you most look forward to?

Most people here in San Antonio look forward to Spring because they love all the green and the wild flowers that bloom during the Spring. We have lovely beautiful bluebonnets and Indian paintbrushes and wine cups and pink flowers and daisies that fill the fields along the roadsides with splashes of color from March through April. By May the bluebonnets are gone and only “the damn yellow flowers,” as Lady Bird Johnson called them, are left. We call them that because there are so many of them and they are so varied that we have stopped naming them and only refer to them as “the damn yellow flowers.”

But Spring is not the season I most look forward to. Spring brings allergies. I can’t breathe. My head is constantly clogged up and congested because of all the pollen from the trees. Especially the oak trees. Everything is coated yellow from the oak tree pollen. We seem to have an abundance of oak trees. My red car has a coating of yellow all over it. It desperately needs washing. I have cleaned the windshield so that I can see out of it. It too had a yellow film over it. Spring also leads to into the long, hot, very hot Summer. I hate Summer. I don’t do well in the heat. I stay inside as much as possible. I take the dogs out very early in the morning and very late at night when it is somewhat cool. The days are often 100 degrees or more. It is nearly unbearable. I really have a problem with Summer. Spring reminds me that Summer will soon be here. So I don’t look forward to Spring. Nor to Summer.

The season I look forward to is Autumn. Autumn means cooler weather. Finally. After the long, hot Summer. The few leaves that fall from the trees–the oaks– start to turn brown (no lovely turning colors here) and then eventually fall to the ground. We tend to get a few thunder storms in the Fall, too. These are very welcome here, as we are always in a state of drought and desperately need the rain. We often get the effects of a hurricane from the Gulf. Even that is welcome. Not the wind, however. I love wearing a jacket and walking the dogs when the weather is cooler. We don’t have to go out so late at night now. And Fall means Winter is right around the corner. I actually like Winter. I don’t really like it when the temperature dips to freezing and I have to find my gloves to wear when I go out with the dogs so I don’t freeze my fingers. I don’t like having to wear a hat. I also don’t like needing to scrape the windshield of my car when it frosts over, even though I do have an ice scraper, which most Texans don’t have. I also don’t like those rare times when we have an ice storm and everything is coated with ice and I have to stay home but still have to gingerly walk the dogs and hope I don’t fall and break my hip. Winter is not the season I look forward to. No, it is Autumn.

Autumn for me is the perfect season. It has the perfect combination of cool weather, sunny days, and rainy days that make life worth living. It means long, leisurely walks with the dogs without worrying about the heat or fear that I will fall on ice or freeze to death or sneeze myself silly. It means being able to listen to the rain as it cascades down the windows of my living room and runs along the bushes in the front of my apartment–drip, drip, drip. Pitter, Patter, Pitter, Patter, Pitter, Patter, Pitter, Patter on the roof over my bed as it lulls me to sleep. What a delicious sound! I love the splashing of the wheels of the cars as they drive past on the drive outside my apartment. I even love walking in the drizzle with the dogs, though they don’t much like it. They much prefer the sunny days after the rain. I like the cool sunny days too for a walk. I love the Autumn, and this is the season I look forward to.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Turn and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–Turn, Turn, Turn

  1. The Hook says:

    As a bellman, the summer is the greatest of seasons. (the money flows like sap!)
    As a father, the summer also means time to enjoy being with the family.
    So obviously summer is my fave!

Leave a Reply

