Daily Prompt–Imperfection


Imperfections — in things, in people, in places — add character to life. Tell us about an imperfection that you cherish.

I will be the first to admit that I am a very naive person about some things. I am quite gullible about some things and I readily believe what people tell me about things or what I see. These things might not be the truth and I don’t get the truth when I cling to these “facts.” But they often allow me to believe the best about people, at least for a little while.  Reality hits soon enough, and brings you down quickly. But I truly believe most people are good and I believe the little that there is good about people, so please allow me the luxury to believe good I know about someone while I know it. I will know the bad things about them soon enough and my hopes about them will be dashed then.  So please although me my naivety for a little while. I will cherish it for a brief time. Thank you for your indulgence.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Imperfection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt–Imperfection

  1. My imperfection is, ironically, my perfectionism. Yes, it has helped me in my career as a teacher. But it can be paralyzing, too. I know you have a daughter who suffers from OCD – and I have some powerfully strong traits which can really be incapacitating at times. You probably would never have guessed it, right? But it’s true. The dark side to being the “Grammar Hammer” is that everyone expects me to be perfect all the time. I know some people who actually delight when I make mistakes. That said, I’m learning to be more comfortable being perfectly imperfect.

    I’m so glad you sent me the link to your blog. Why isn’t it linked to your avatar?!

  2. The Hook says:

    I have so many to choose from….

Leave a Reply

