Daily Prompt–Charitable


You’ve inherited $5 million, with instructions that you must give it all away — but you can choose any organizations you like to be the beneficiaries. Where does the money go?

Five million dollars is a lot of money! I am happy to get it, and even more happy to be able to give it away to the charitable organizations I have chosen. These are organizations that are very dear to my heart and that I have been involved with for some years. They all do good work and I am proud to be able to give them some of my imaginary money. I only wish it were really money and could actually do real good.

futures for childrenThe first organization that would be the beneficiary of my charitable donation would be $2 million dollars to Futures For Children. This is a not-for-profit organization for Native American children based in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Children on reservation and in pueblos are registered with the agency and there is a Native American coordinator on the reservation or in the pueblo who works with the children. The children must do well in school; the emphasis is on education in this program. They set up after-school programs to help the students on the reservations and in the pueblos and have scholarship programs and special summer study programs for the students. I have sponsored two children from the Jemez Pueblo in New Mexico for the past 17 1/2 years. They are brother and sister. My older child, Cassandra, is no longer a child. She is a young woman, ready to graduate from the University of New Mexico and coaching women’s basketball at her old high school at Jemez Valley High School. Her brother Mark is getting ready to graduate from the Walatowa Alternative High School in the pueblo this Spring. He too will go on to college. I am so proud of both these young people and I want others like them to have the same opportunities that they have had. To do that they need sponsors and support and the organization needs funds. So $2 million dollars of my imaginary money will go to Futures for Children to support their work with the education of Native American youth.

The next $1 million will go to the organization Children International. I also support a child in the Philippines through this organization and have previously supported a child in Honduras. This is a wonderful organization that supports needy children with food, clothing, medical care, and education throughout the world. Individual sponsors contribute a monthly stipend and then also send special gifts through the year for medical care and Christmas, Easter, school fees, etc. The organization helps out in emergencies such as when flooding occurs or when an earthquake happens. The $1 million dollars would help provide much needed emergency care and provide help to unsupported children.

I would also like to provide $1 million to Doctors Without Borders. This organization goes into the poorest of the poor regions of the world, places where there is war, famine, disease and ministers to the people. I provide a monthly support to Doctors Without Borders, but $1 million dollars would help them very much to provide needed medicine and medical supplies to the areas that need it most.

The last beneficiary of my imaginary money would be $1 million to the ASPCA. I currently support them with a monthly contribution. They do good work in preventing cruelty to all kinds of animals, both those in shelter and those on the streets. I love animals. I have two rescued Japanese Chin dogs of my own. They came from a breed rescue society. One was a owner turn-in and one was rescued from a puppy mill. They are the loves of my life. I can’t imagine my life without them. Animals are such a blessing to our lives. We must be good stewards to them. The ASPCA strives to care for animals. That’s why I would give them $1 million to continue the good work that they do.

These are organizations that I would give my imaginary $5 million to and this is how I would divide up the money. I would give the most money to Future For Children because I feel so strongly in the work that they do and I have been involved for so long in that organization. I would like to see other children benefit in the way my sponsored children have benefited and succeed in the way that they have succeeded. Children International, Doctors Without Borders, and the ASPCA are all worthy organizations who do good work and who will benefit from the donation of a $1 million each. I only wish that I really had the money to be able to give these organization the money to help them in their efforts.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Charitable and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–Charitable

  1. Pingback: 111Clone | Daily Prompt–Charitable

  2. Pingback: Alliance for Healing | Daily Prompt–Charitable

Leave a Reply

