Daily Prompt–Million-Dollar Question


Why do you blog?

This really is the million-dollar question. Why indeed do I blog? Originally I set out to talk about my conversion to Islam but decided that was a little too personal and decided against doing that. Then I decided to start a blog where I would tell family stories to pass on to my granddaughters. I have that blog on another site but haven’t done much with it in awhile. I need to get back to it. I have touched on some of my childhood memories on this blog site periodically in some of the prompts, however. I need to take those stories and transfer them to my other site for the granddaughters. I also have another blog site that is for my family’s history, sort of a genealogy site for both sides of my family. I set it up and maintain it and both sides use it and post pictures and text for their family members. It’s important for our family and that’s why I do it.

But why do I get up every morning and check for the Daily Prompt and also write my Book Challenge Update and sometimes do my Film Challenge Update? Because I just feel the need to write. I like to write. I have no idea why. I’m not particularly creative. I don’t have a great vocabulary. I am adequate in grammar and sentence structure. I check out others’ blogs and leave comments. But I like to try to respond to the Daily Prompt. I usually find them a challenge so I usually rise to the challenge and write something. Sometimes I feel like I’ve done a good job. For example, I thought yesterday’s Daily Prompt which asked us to invent a story behind the phrase “the third time’s the charm” was a good one for me. I wrote a fractured fairy tale about two failed marriages for Prince Charming before his third and successful marriage to Cinderella. I think I did a fairly good job on the telling of this warped fairy tale. Other Daily Prompts I don’t do as well with. I will not give you examples. If you go back through my posts, you’ll be sure to find them. They are there.

I also write my Book Challenge Updates. I read voraciously. I read a number of books at one time. So I finish books quickly. As soon as I finish a book, I write a review of that book, a somewhat lengthy one with a picture of the book cover, in my Book Challenge Update. These reviews are well received. I give a synopsis of the plot of the book and then give my impressions of the book. There have been some books that I didn’t quite understand and I freely admit to it. For example, there was recently a mystery book, A Nose For Justice by Rita Mae Brown, an author whose books I generally love, whose plot involved water rights and the leasing of those rights. I didn’t begin to understand what she was talking about in this book as it pertained to water rights and it was an important part of the plot. I wrote that in my review. I read a great many mystery books as that is my favorite genre, but I also read biographies, novels, literature, historical fiction, non-fiction. I don’t read horror, fantasy (usually), or sci-fi. These are just not for me. Occasionally I see a film in the theater or on television and then I’ll review it for the Film Update Challenge. I have set a goal this year of reading 150 books. Already I’ve read 50 books so I’m well on the way to my goal. I set a goal of 25 films and have only seen five; I don’t think I’ll make my goal of 25 films but I’d rather read more books anyway. I’d rather be active than passive.

So I write my blogs because I like to write. The Daily Prompt presents a challenge to me. Sometimes it is just too much of a challenge for me, as when it asked for a list of songs. That stumps me and I skip the prompt or when it asks me to rewrite a post. I just can’t be bothered to sort through my old posts and find something to rewrite, so I take a pass. But 90% of the time, I attempt the Daily Prompt. And I write my Book Challenge Reviews, which my readers seem to like. And it makes me feel like I’ve completed the reading process my giving my impressions of what I’ve read. I’m not a passive reader. But mainly I like to write.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Million-Dollar Question and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–Million-Dollar Question

  1. And you don’t need any other reason 😀

  2. The Hook says:

    Indulge your passion all you like, my friend!

Leave a Reply

