Daily Prompt–Unknown Caller


You receive a call from someone an unexpected person. Who is it, and what is the conversation about? Go!

I received a call this morning from an attorney. She represented a long, lost cousin. This cousin knew that I had been doing genealogy into our family’s history and was quite happy about my work in this area. It also happens that this cousin was very wealth and had no heirs. This cousin left his estate to me. It amounts to $100,000.

I was quite shocked, to say the least. I had never met this cousin. This cousin was just a name on the family tree in our family genealogy. I had discovered him when I was compiling our family tree. We had never corresponded. But he must have looked at the work I was doing on the family tree in Ancestry.com which is where my work is located. I have an extensive family tree that encompasses both sides of my family and branches out to include my ex-husband’s family. I have many branches going out into the in-laws from my family tree. It is a very complicated family tree. But this cousin is located somewhere along the main family tree though distance from it. He isn’t an in-law. I am so grateful that he liked my work and remembered me.

Of course this is a fictitious phone call and there is no cousin and no attorney. But it would be nice if there were such a person out there. I do a lot of genealogy work for my family, for both my maternal and paternal sides of the family and also for my ex-husband’s family, for my daughter’s father’s family. She would like to know about her family of origin so I work to locate these ancestors for her and for her sister and for my granddaughters. I love doing this work and I have cousins especially from my mother’s family who are working on this, too. Genealogy is a fascinating subject. It’s fun to learn about your family and its history.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Unknown Caller and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–Unknown Caller

  1. The Hook says:

    Very well done, my beautiful friend!

Leave a Reply

