Daily Prompt–Freaky Friday


If you could be someone else for a day, who would you be, and why? If that seems too easy, try this one: who would you like to have spend a day as you and what do you hope they’d learn from the experience?

This prompt got me totally confused. I actually thought it was Friday. I woke up thinking it was Friday and then seeing this prompt, I really did think it was Friday. This should have been tomorrow’s prompt, Word Press. I’m just saying.

CASA-LOGO-2Now for addressing the prompt, which totally confused me. I am addressing the second part of the prompt. I would like my daughter to spend one day as me. She would probably go a little bit crazy, I know. But maybe not. First, she would probably like to sleep in. Ernie would get up early, but wouldn’t make a fuss. Ralphy would be in his crate until she woke up and took him out, but she would get to sleep late with no one to bother her for a change. Then she would have to go to a Permanency Planning Meeting (PPM) at Child Protective Services (CPS)for one of my CASA Advocates. This would be an eye-opener for her. She would have to take notes while listening to the CASA Advocate, the attorneys, the Ad Litem, the parent, and the caseworker talk about the children and the parent and their interaction. It isn’t pretty and the parent gets defensive about their actions and blames the child for acting out. The parent insists that they are not to blame, no matter what they did. The child is always to blame. The foster parents are always to blame. No matter what the CASA says about the child getting along in the foster home, the parent will say that the child hates the foster home and is crying to come home.

Next, my daughter would have to attend a court hearing in Family Court for my CASA case. This would be an update on the status of my case where the children have been freed for adoption and we are waiting for the home studies to be done so they can be adopted. One child is already in her foster home that will be her adoptive home; the other two are waiting for the home study to be completed on their aunt’s home. The caseworker will provide the update. We provide the summary report on how the children are doing in their placements. She will have to listen to the judge rant about how it is unacceptable that it is taking so long to do the home studies and keep her mouth shut. This will be difficult for her, because she likes to talk back.

Then she’ll go back home. She’s lucky that she didn’t have to write the court report. I did that last week. She will want to clean up my apartment. I will be very grateful for that because it’s just beyond me. But she is ambitious. I wanted her to learn about my life as a CASA peer coordinator and she did by going to a PPM and to court. She learned how parents manipulate and lie, and how to listen in court. So she learned what I wanted her to learn. She also has learned that my life at home is very solitary. It’s just me and the dogs. I have not had her try to write my blog because she’s not interested in that. I just wanted her to understand my life as a CASA and that my life at home is sometimes lonely. That’s all I wanted her to know. That’s all I really wanted her to learn from taking on my life for a day.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Freaky Friday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

