Daily Prompt–Bizarro World


In the DC comics universe, a planet called “Htrae” (“Earth” spelled backwards) is populated with bizarre versions of superheroes. A Seinfeld episode made the idea of this Bizarro World popular, where the characters encountered their opposite selves.

Craft a scene in which you meet an opposite version of yourself — or a story in a bizarre, backwards world.

I am coming down my stairs this morning, minding my own business when I see a stranger in my living room. He has long hair and is bouncing about with a beer in his hand. Where did he get a beer from, I wonder.

“Who are you?” I ask the stranger. “My name is Enaid,” he responds. “I am your opposite from Bizarro World. Here for a visit.” So that would explain why he is a male, I think to myself, and also why he is drinking a beer in my house, but I again wonder where he got the beer from since I have no alcoholic beverages in my home. “Where did you get the beer from?” I ask him, to satisfy my curiosity. “Brought it with me. Knew you didn’t stock your own, so I brought a case,” Enaid replies. Oh, great. My Islamic home now has a case of beer in the fridge. How he managed to stash a case of beer in my fridge is another matter. “How did you find room in the fridge,” I inquire. “Took out some of the food,” he reponds. Wonderful. “You can’t do that. The food will go bad. You’ll just have to drink warm beer,” I tell him as I remove his beer from my fridge. After all this IS my home and he is from Bizarro World and is not staying long and he and is beer will be leaving in awhile.

“What do you plan on doing while you’re visiting me?” I venture. “Thought we’d go out on the town. Hit a few bars. Play some pool. Sports bars. You know. Have some fun. Pizza. Beer. Wings,” he lists his activities with pleasure. “You must be kidding,” I retort. “I will eat pizza and wings with you in a sports bar but I don’t drink beer and I’m a horrible pool player and I don’t play for money.” “What!? You are no fun at all! What’s the matter with you!” he exclaims. “Nothing’s the matter with me. This is who I am. Take it or leave it. I’m the one with the car. Are we going to the sports bar for pizza and wings or not, Enaid?” I ask him. He reluctantly  acquiesces. 

We arrive at Dick’s Sports Bar. We order a pepperoni pizza with peppers and mushrooms and extra cheese and beer for Enaid and we go to play a round of pool. As I predict, Enaid, winds handily. We eat our pizza and Enaid orders chicken wings. I can scarcely eat another bite but he is going strong. We play a few video games and Enaid again wins at them all. He’s a happy camper. The hockey game is playing on one television; a basketball game on another television. Enaid is in his element. He devours the chicken wings, while I eat two and a couple of celery sticks and carrot sticks. Then he orders a Philly cheese steak sandwich. Where does he put all this food?! We play a few more video games and then he wants to play pool again. I lose again. Then it’s off to the movies.

We go to the movies to see G.I. Joe: Retaliation. This is definitely not my type of my movie. But this is Enaid’s type of movie. He is screaming all sorts of encouragement at the hero during the movie. He is also consuming large quantities of food throughout the movie: a hotdog, a large tub of popcorn, a large soda, a large bag of M&Ms, a soft pretzel. I can’t believe he is eating again!

I am exhausted after this “fun” day with Enaid. I take him back to my town home. It is time for him to go back to Bizarro World. I ask him if he had fun today. He takes his case of warm beer and says, “Yes, I had a good time. You should have had something to drink. We should have gotten drunk. That would have been more fun. But we had a good time, didn’t we?” I reply, “Yes, I suppose we did. It wasn’t what I would choose to do but it was an interesting day. It was a diversion. You were an interesting companion, Enaid. Have a good life in Bizarro World.” “Take care of yourself, and have fun. Don’t do anything I wouldn’t do!” Enaid says as he leaves. I just might miss the guy.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Bizarro World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–Bizarro World

  1. Seeing your character as a collection of opposites was fascinating!

  2. The Hook says:

    As a life-long comic book fan, I found this to be brilliant, my lovely friend!
    Super job!

Leave a Reply

