Daily Prompt–Critical Eye


Write about the subject you usually blog about as if you were a music critic.

I usually write book reviews for my book challenge update. I read a lot and for each book I read, I write a book review about that book for the edification of my readers. Also they might like to read that book. Some of them are popular novels. I try not to give away the endings, but sometimes I do (naughty of me, I know).

a-red-herring-without-mustardBooks are like symphonies. The individual characters are like the individual notes that the various instruments of the orchestra must play.

For example, the violins play their notes. In A Red Herring Without Mustard by Alan Bradley, the first violins could represent Flavia de Luce. The French horn could represent the Gypsy woman Fenella Faa. The bass could represent Inspector Hewitt. The bassoon would be Tom Bull. The violas would be Colonel de Luce. The flute would be Daffy de Luce. The piccolo would be Feeley de Luce. The saxophone would be Brooke Harwood. The clarinet would be Colin Prout. The second violins could represent Porcelein Lee.

The chords represent the interaction amongst the characters. The movements of the musical piece show the twists and turns of the plot of the story, as Fenella is attacked, Flavia finds Brookie Harwood’s body, Flavia investigates Brookie’s activities, Flavia finds Colin in the Buckshaw cellars, Flavia confronts Tom Bull. The final movement, the resolution, brings the story to a conclusion when all is revealed and Flavia brings the portrait of Harriet home to Buckshaw.

This example shows how a book review can be like a music critic’s review. I have used one of my favorite books to illustrate the example and this book is one that I have recently reviewed so it will be familiar to my readers. Books are similar to symphonies in that all their parts work together to produce harmonious whole. Without one of the parts, something integral is missing and the whole would definitely be lacking something important. We need all the parts to make the whole work. This is true both in books, in the characters and their interactions, and in music, in the notes and the chords and movements.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Critical Eye and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daily Prompt–Critical Eye

  1. The Hook says:

    Good job! I smell a cover story for Rolling Stone in your future!

  2. granny1947 says:

    I have just finished readin a book by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter. Completely unlike his normal stuff but I enjoyed it. Must say I do prefer his Discworld stories. Have you read him?

Leave a Reply

