10 Reasons Why Senate Voted Against Background Check Bill


I’m angry and upset about the defeat of the gun control legislation in the United States Senate last week. I’m reflagging this List of X blog from The Hook’s site. I think it’s worth a reblog.

List of X

Yesterday, United States Senate failed to pass the law extending the background check requirement to most private gun sales. Although 85% to 90% of all Americans support universal background checks, and more than 50 Senators were in favor of passing the bill, a strong majority of 46 Senators defeated the bill. (According to the current Senate rules, 41 or more votes out of 100 constitute a majority). In response, visibly infuriated President Barack Obama held a press conference, calling out the National Rifle Association for “willful lies” and shaming Senators for their votes.  Here are 10 reasons why Senate voted down the background checks:

1)  These 46 Senators decided to go along with the NRA, because it’s usually not a good idea to antagonize a bunch of angry people with guns.

2)  Guns are very important to many Americans: in rural states, guns are a way of life. And…

View original post 260 more words

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 10 Reasons Why Senate Voted Against Background Check Bill

Leave a Reply

