Daily Prompt–Earworm


What song is stuck in your head (or on permanent rotation in your CD  or MP3 player) these days? Why does it speak to you?

The song that I always have repeating in my head in “I Want To Know What Love Is” by Foreigner. I know, it is a very old song. older than dirt, as my granddaughters would say. And to them it would be. It was around way before they were born. It was popular when their mother was a small child. But it is a song that has always spoken to me.

The words make me think about love that has always seem to have alluded me. Yes, I have been it love–many times. Well, maybe not many. A few. But love has not lasted. The loves of my life have left me. A couple, I have fallen out of love with. The feeling was mutual. But the love of my life left me and our young daughter. It was devastating for me. It’s this lost love that I think about when I hear this song. I would like to have another love who could show me that there really is a true love, an all-encompassing love like I had with my first love.

I don’t know if I’ll ever find another love like my first love. I highly doubt it. I haven’t up to this point and I’m getting on in years. I don’t think I will find true love now, in my lifetime. I wish I could. It is the one regret in my life. But this song still speaks to me. It speaks to a longing I have in my heart for someone who could bring love to me, who could show me what true love really is. I still want to know what love is. I want someone to show me.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Earworm and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–Earworm

  1. The Hook says:

    That’s a great song!
    And you know what love is: You shower your family with it every day.
    Beautiful post, by the way.

Leave a Reply

