Daily Prompt–Clone Wars


If you could clone yourself, how would you split up your responsibilities?

 I don’t really need to clone myself. I can do all the things I need to do by myself. However, since Word Press has told me to clone myself, I have decided to take their advice and split myself into two and clone myself into a CASA self and an other self.

CASA-LOGO-2My CASA self would perform all the duties that in have to perform in my role as advocate and peer coordinator as a Court-Appointed Special Advocate for Children in the Family Courts. As an Advocate, I am assigned a case of abused and/or neglected children in the Family Court. I visit the children and advocate for them in the Family Court. I learn as much as I can about the children and their parents and the foster homes or placements that they are in. I try to find out what is in their best interest, what will make them happy and keep them safe. Most of these children have been abused and/or neglected by their parents or the boyfriends or girlfriends of the parents. They need to be protected. The parents need to work a service plan, to take classes about parenting, anger management, domestic violence, and psychiatric counseling before their children can return home. Some parents are very resistant to these classes. They feel they don’t need these classes. The children also need counseling after the trauma of the abuse and neglect. I am also a Peer Coordinator for CASA. This means that I supervise three Advocate volunteers and their cases. I go with them to their meetings at Child Protective Services (CPS) and to the Family Court hearings. I advise them and review their court report. I counsel them in their work with their children and the families. Peer Coordinators are experienced advocates who are able to mentor other advocates and free up the CASA supervisors. Peer Coordinators report to their CASA supervisors.

So my clone would be my CASA self. She would take over my CASA duties. This past month has been quite heavy with CASA duties. In April, I have had two court dates, three court reports, and two permanency planning meetings (PPMs). Next month I have two court dates and another court report. I also have closed out my CASA case and need to review the CASA case files and select a new case. My clone will have quite a lot to do. This doesn’t even count visiting the children when I get my new CASA case, something that must be done at least once a month.

Then myself, my other self can do what I normally do–take the car to be serviced, go for blood tests, go to the doctor for my check-up, get my hair done, take my granddaughters to the movies, etc. The dogs need to go to the vet to get their shots, and then they need to go to the groomer. And I like to read and write my blog, as well as study French and keep up with my postcard club. So my other self has a lot to do, too.

I didn’t think I needed a clone. But with a second look, maybe a clone would be a good idea. My CASA work is taking quite a bit of time lately and my other self has a lot to do as well. I guess I could use a clone.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Clone Wars and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–Clone Wars

  1. The Hook says:

    But you’re one-of-a-kind!

Leave a Reply

