Book Challenge Update–58


I have read the 58th book for the book challenge. It was the novella An East End Murder: A Charles Lennox Short Story by Charles Finch.

east end murderCharles Lennox is called by Jameson to the murder of a man in the East End. Together they learn that that although the man has been stripped of his wordily possessions, his name is Phil Jiggs and he is from the Seven Dials area of London. Jameson asks Lennox to investigate the murder of Jiggs.

Lennox goes in the Seven Dials, a very dangerous area of London, filled with gambling, prostitution, pick-pockets, thief’s, and killings. He seeks out Mrs. Morris who is selling corn, whom he has helped previously, to see if she knows of Phil Jiggs. She knows him but doesn’t want to say much. She directs him to the Plug Brothers who have a used clothing shop. Lennox visits the Plug Brothers in their shop and they tell him the story of Phil Jiggs. He was an orphan who came from Norfolk. He had rooms by lost them and was living at the church where he sometimes paid and sometimes did work for the church.

So Lennox proceeds to the church where he meets the Rev. Samuel Tilden, who runs the mission of caring for the orphans and the men who stay at the church. The orphans are in very poor condition, with very long hair, very thin. They are doing chores and copying music for the church. Lennox sees the place where Jiggs stayed and learns that the Rev. Tilden came from Norwich. Lennox meets one of the orphan boys and notices the tattoo on the back of his neck, ST. Jiggs had a similar tattoo on the back of his neck.

The next day, Lennox takes Jameson and they return to Seven Dials and arrest the Rev. Tilden for the murder of Phil Jiggs. Charles Lennox has solved the case. Both Jiggs and Tilden were from Norfolk. Jiggs grew up in Tilden’s orphanage in Norwich, hence the tattoo “ST.” Jiggs saw what Tilden was doing to the orphan boys in London, working them so hard and making money off them and he threatened to tell the church authorities so Tilden killed him. They found the piano wire that Tilden used to strangle Jigg in Tilden’s office. This case was solved.

This was a lovely short story, a little novella, in true Charles Lennox fashion. I really enjoyed it.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Book Challenge Update and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Challenge Update–58

  1. The Hook says:

    I love your reviews!

  2. Jay Holmes says:

    Hi Mariedubhtx. I just read your bio. I hope that you can have some genuine joy this weekend. For that matter I hope that you can have some EVERY day.

    Find some fun this weekend.

    • mairedubhtx says:

      Actually I’ve been finding more joy lately. My granddaughter bring me much joy and my work with CASA gives me passion. My meds have been adjusted and that helps considerably. I’m finally in a better place emotionally.

Leave a Reply

