Daily Prompt–Wall To Wall


What do you display on the walls of your home — photos, posters, artwork, nothing? How do you choose what to display? What mood are you trying to create?

For a while after I moved in, I didn’t have anything on my walls. That’s because I was lazy and hadn’t unpacked my boxes from the garage.

But the things I actually put on my walls are a combination of things. Mostly they are photographs. They are photographs of my family. I love to hang the photographs of my family on my walls. I have several photographs of my granddaughters at various ages on my walls.  I also have photographs of my daughter.

I  have a photograph of my father when he was a little boy when he was about four years old. I love this picture of my father. He is in a velvet suit and holding a little stuffed dog. It is a very sweet picture. I have a photograph of my grandmother as a young woman. She is wearing a white dress and a gold locket and her red-hair is done in an up-do around her face. She is very pretty. The picture is taken outdoors. I also have a picture of my grandfather. It is a studio portrait. He is in a suit and collared shirt. He has a very luxurious dark mustache and dark hair. He is very handsome. I can see why my grandmother fell in love with him. Looking at these three photographs, I can see that my father looks very much like my grandmother. He has the same red-hair that she does, the same shaped face. But I know that he will eventually develop a personality that is very similar to that of his father’s.

Another photo that I have is of my daughter and me on her wedding day. Her first wedding day. Her husband is not in the picture. Which is good. The marriage didn’t last. He was a jerk. She looks beautiful I even look good. I was 20 years younger. Almost. It is really a good picture, taken by her then-step-mother. I really love that photograph. I also love her high school graduation picture. She really looks beautiful in that photograph.

I also have a photograph of my parents that was taken just before my daughter was born, 36 1/2 years ago. It is a very good picture of both of them. It is a studio portrait. They had it taken for their church. My parents both look very happy. My mother is wearing her favorite red suit. My father is wearing his favorite blue suit. Both are smiling, relaxed. It is one of my favorite photos of them.

These photographs are my prized possessions. Being surrounded by them makes me happy. I have all the people I love around me, even though many of them are no longer with us. I am still able to see their faces and remember them. That’s important to me. That’s why I have them in my home. That’s why I have them hanging on my walls.

I do have a couple of pieces of counted cross-stitch that I made also hanging on my walls. These are southwest-themed pieces that I made and had framed and that I am quite proud of. I no longer do counted-cross stitch because I can’t see as well as I used to. So these pieces are very special to me.

So my photographs and my counted-cross stitch pieces are what are hanging on my walls. I don’t have posters or speakers or anything else on the walls. I only have these things which are important to me, which remind of important things in my life. These things make me happy.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Wall To Wall and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–Wall To Wall

Leave a Reply

