Daily Prompt–Your Time To Shine


Early bird, or night owl?

Am I an early bird or a night owl? Well, I would have to say that I’m definitely a morning person and I’ll tell you all about why.

I wake every morning at 5:00 a.m.  I take my morning pills and take my shower. I read the Qur’an. Then at about 5:50 a.m. or thereabouts I say the first of my five daily prayers. This is the Fajr prayer, the dawn prayer, of two rakats. It only takes a few minutes but then I say my duaas, or prayers of supplication to God. I pray for my friends and family and for myself, for special intentions. This takes a little while.

Then I take my dogs for a short walk. This is their morning walk as they have been in all night. Ernie has been asleep on my bed and Ralphy has been in his crate all night, so I take them out for their walk around the complex. We are out walking 30 minutes. Then they eat their breakfast and have some water. They are thirsty when they come in. I put out my pastry for my breakfast later and fit my fiber drink and take my supplements.

Now I settle down to my morning routine. I turn on the television and watch the early morning Fox local news show (no, it’s not like the national Fox news). I like our local Fox anchors. They have an L-bar that scrolls the headlines and gives the weather and the time and temperature. They also give the traffic (though I usually don’t need it) every five minutes and the weather every five to seven minutes. They have good feature stories. The show runs from 5 a.m. to 9 a.m. I usually watch it from about 6:30 a.m. to 9 a.m.

While I have the Fox news show on, I’m busy dealing with my computer. First I go to the Greater Good Network and click on the buttons to give bowls of food, books, mammograms, help to the rain forests, etc. Then I go to Post Crossings, my postcard club, where I register postcards that I have received and get the names for people to whom I will send postcards that day. Then I deal with my email. First Yahoo. There is usually CASA email that I must deal with and I reply to that. If there is French-Word-A-Day email, I write down that word in a notebook that I have. Then I go to Transparent Language Word-A-Day and write down the French word for the day and the example sentence in my notebook.

Then it’s on to Gmail. Gmail is by far the biggest challenge because all the blogs I subscribe to come through Gmail. I get a lot of petitions through Gmail as well. Many of them I delete because I also get them in Yahoo. I also get correspondence with my friend Alen through my Gmail account and I look forward to that. The blog subscription reading takes a while to get through. Many I just skim and when i find something really interesting I read more thoroughly. There are certain blogs that I always take time to read carefully and there are those that I ordinarily just skim. I have learned to tell the difference, for me. This process usually takes me several hours.

My final action of the morning on the computer is to try to answer the Word Press prompt. I’m doing that right now. Most days I attempt to address the prompt. Some days the prompt is just beyond me, such as when it makes me go back and rewrite a post or make a playlist of songs. I just can’t do those types of prompts. But most prompts I at least try to answer. My response might not be stellar but I make a good attempt. This is my final Gmail action as the prompt comes through on my Gmail. I may also write one of my Book Challenge Updates, my book reviews for the books I have read. I also write these first thing in the morning and publish one of the reviews I have written previously when I have a new one. I always have one on hand in case I need to publish one when I don’t attempt a prompt and need to publish something. Pretty smart, huh?

I also, every week, go out one day a week to La Madeleine Bakery to get a baguette and croissants. It’s about 15 minutes from my town home and I go out early before they get too crowded with the breakfast people. I usually stop to get gas, too.

Another thing I do in the mornings, if I have time, is to go onto Rosetta Stone and do a lesson in my French lessons. I am on Unit 10 now. I have been stuck on this unit for a while now. I can’t seem to quite get a handle on it. I don;t know why. It just gets away from from. I need to learn it and schedule a session with the mentor. I have canceled two sessions because i didn’t feel I was ready and spent some time away from it. Now I’ll go back to it and try it again.

Some mornings, however, my routine is disrupted. I either have to leave at 8:00 a.m. to go for a blood test (as I did last week and the week before) or sometimes I have to go to Family Court. Sometimes Court is at 9 a.m. Sometimes I have to be at Child Protective Services at 9 a.m. for a meeting. Then I have to leave at 8 a.m. Then that pushes back my opening Gmail and doing my prompt.

Later in the mornings, I do things such as schedule my hair appointments and have my nails done. I also have my doctors’ appointments in the late mornings or early afternoons. Some of my Court dates are also in the early afternoons. The Court dates could actually be anytime and are scheduled whenever the Judge feels like it. You just have to be prepared. The same with the meetings at CPS. Especially parent-child visitations. They usually take place at 4 or 5 o’clock, when the kids are out of school. And you have to be there for those, and then you get caught in rush-hour traffic. Not fun at all.

But I definitely NOT a night owl. I fall asleep on the futon  watching television every night by 8 or 9 o’clock. I usually sleep until about midnight and then take the dogs out and then take my night pills and go to bed. I fall right to sleep and sleep straight through until 5:00 a.m. when the alarm goes off and my day starts again.

So you can see, I guess I am most definitely an early bird. I don’t know if I get the worm or not, but I get a lot done and I like my routine. I’m happy with it.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Your Time To Shine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–Your Time To Shine

  1. It sounds like you get a lot down. Wow. I think I’m a combo night owl, morning person. I try to make up for it by power napping if I get sleepy.

  2. Definitely an early bird! And what a lot you fit into your day.

Leave a Reply

