Daily Prompt–Cringe-Worthy


Do you feel uncomfortable when you see someone else being embarrassed? What’s most likely to make you squirm?

Yes, I do feel uncomfortable when I see someone else being embarrassed. I guess I place myself in the other person’s place and imagine how I’d feel if I were in that same situation and feel what they are feeling. I hate to see anyone being embarrassed or being made a fool of by anyone. It’s a terrible thing.

The thing that really makes me squirm is when someone makes a personal attack on someone else. When a person attacks another person’s personal situation or family. That is a low blow. It’s one thing to go after someone’s political or religious beliefs, but it’s quite another to tear down someone’s living situation or their family. Those are things that should be off-limits to other people. For example, to talk about a person’s divorce proceedings in a group setting is just not right or the problems they are having with their child should not happen. Their political leanings, on the other hand, are fair game. Maybe even their religious beliefs, especially if they have been very vocal about them with the group. Even social issues can be discussed, as government and foreign policy, where they stand or issues such as these things.

But I draw the line at personal attacks on individuals. I really am very uncomfortable when someone attacks another person personally and embarrasses them deliberately. It is mean and cruel. It should not happen. There is no need for it. It isn’t civilized. It isn’t playing fair.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Cringe-Worthy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

