Wednesday Hodgepodge–Late Again


Wednesday Hodgepodge – 1st May

 

1. This week’s Hodgepodge is Volume 123. What’s something you’ve done recently that was as easy as 1-2-3?

Well, at first it wasn’t as easy as 1-2-3. I was attempting to put Ralphy’s new harness on him and I was hopelessly boggled by it. I just could not figure out which way the darned thing would go on to him. Finally, after about 20 minutes of trying to squeeze him into it in every conceivable way, I took it off him and laid it out on the couch. Suddenly, it all became clear! It made sense! Why hadn’t I seen it before?! It was absolute simplicity. I had been looking at it sideways all along! I picked it up, put it on him, adjusted the sides and he was on his way. Easy as 1-2-3!

2. The Wednesday Hodgepodge also happens to fall on the first day of May…what is something you may do this month?

This is Family Court month for me. I have two Family Court dates with my CASA advocates this month, which means two court reports and twice at the court house as well. I wish I were also going to a friend’s high school graduation in New Mexico but unfortunately that is not going to happen. So I look forward to Mother’s Day when perhaps my daughter will take me to lunch.

3. The Englishman Horace Walpole is credited as saying, ”The world is a tragedy to those who feel, but a comedy to those who think.”  How do you see it?

I think the world is both tragedy and comedy. I both think and feel. I see the tragedy of situations in the world, and Lord knows, April saw its share of tragedies, at least here in the US. But there were also enough comedies to help us maintain a sense of balance so that we are not entirely overwhelmed by the tragedies. The thing is to maintain a balance and not to become so weighted down by the tragedies nor unaware of the tragedies by focusing on the comedy.

4. May is National Hamburger Month…how often do you eat a burger?  What are your must-haves when it comes to burgers?  I assume you vegetarians won’t be celebrating so tell us what you’d like instead?

It’s rare that I have a burger, but I actually did have a sirloin and onion burger last week. I hadn’t had one in months. They are usually too heavy for me, but I just had a yearning for one. This one had lettuce, tomatoes, onions, and dill pickles. I usually like dill pickles, bleu cheese on my burgers if I go to Fuddrucker’s. That’s my favorite place to go for a burger.

5. Pansies, petunias, geraniums, impatiens…of the four mentioned which is your favorite in a patio pot? Will there be pots on your patio this spring? (Or whenever spring comes to your part of the globe?)  Who does the gardening at your house?

I don’t have a space to have outdoor flowers, more’s the pity. But if I did, I’d like to have pansies and snapdragons. I love pansies. The lawn service here plants pansies and snapdragons around the office. My father always planted petunias and it was my job to dead-head the petunias. I hated the stickiness of that job.

6. When did you last (literally or figuratively) shout “Mayday, Mayday!”

I guess the last time I figuratively shouted “Mayday, Mayday!” was when I went into the kitchen a couple of days ago to find that Ralphy (yes, Ralphy again) had upended the dog dish and dog food was all over the kitchen floor. It was quite the mess. Luckily it’s dry food, but now that he knows how to tip it over, I have to invest in a non-tippable dog dish.

7. Say farewell to your April in ten words or less.

What a bummer of a month you have been, April!

8.  Insert your own random thought here. 

We have actually had substantial rain in the past week. We had a nasty thunderstorm on Monday night that dropped about 5 inches of rain in our area of the city. Before that, the Fiesta Flambeau parade on Saturday night was abruptly halted by a vicious thunder and lightning storm, the first time in its history that has happened. Then last night we were told we’d have drizzle but we actually had another thunderstorm with 1.5 inches of rain. We are desperate for the rain, so the rain has been a blessing. Not so much the hail and the power outages.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Wednesday Hodgepodge--Late Again and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wednesday Hodgepodge–Late Again

  1. I really like your answers to 3 and 7!

Leave a Reply

