Daily Prompt–The Little Things


Describe a little thing — one of the things you love that define your world but is often overlooked.

My world is made of of many little things. My world is not composed of many big things. There is really nothing in my world that is of major importance to the outside world except perhaps the roof over my head and my family. Those are the two things that are the big, major important things in my life. But everything else is small, little things that make my life complete.

Japanese Chin Dog Breed Pictures 01I have two small things that add greatly to my life. I wrote a japanese_chin_newpoem to them earlier this week to close out National Poetry Month. It was called “Ode To Ernie And Ralphy.” Yes, I am talking about my two sweet, adorable, funny Japanese Chin dogs, Ernie and Ralphy. They are literally small, about 14 pounds each. Ernie is short and sort of round, a little stocky, a black and white Chin. He is now about 7 years old. He does have a problem with his eyes; he has dry eyes, so he needs drops in his eyes every day.  Ralphy is tall, with long legs, a long body, and he is tan and white, a “lemon” Chin. He has a terrible under-bite. His little bottom teeth protrude horribly and he looks very funny. He is constantly sticking out his sweet pink tongue.

Ernie is very well-behaved. He is perfectly mannered. He is a regular couch potato, exactly what Chin were bred to be. When I give him a dog cookie, he eats every bit of it. He takes it gently from my fingers and doesn’t leave a crumb. Ralphy is another story. Ralphy is into everything. He can find trouble anywhere. I try to put things where he can’t get to them, but he somehow manages to find things to tear apart. He grabs dog cookies and leaves crumbs on the carpet. He drags the dog food out of the dog dish into the living room. He has now learned to tip over the dog dish so that I am picking up dog food that is all over the kitchen floor until I can get out to buy a non-tippable dog dish.

Another little thing that I value is my walks with Ernie and Ralphy. I love to go for our walks, particularly in the morning. The mornings are cool and fresh, and the dogs are happy to get out after being in all night, especially Ralphy who has been in his crate all night so he doesn’t destroy the house. We walk around the town home complex and they get to smell all the places other dogs have been. They enjoy their walk and I do too. We go for a shorter walk late at night before bed.

These are the little things that I love: my two sweet guys, Ernie and Ralphy, and their walks. My world would be a much diminished place if I didn’t have my little guys in my life and their walks.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in The Little Things and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–The Little Things

  1. The Hook says:

    And what wonderful little things they are!

  2. My little schnauzer is such a blessing. She knows when I feel blue and either lays on my lap or acts like a nutcase to make me laugh.

Leave a Reply

