Daily Prompt–The Glass


Is the glass half-full, or half-empty?

This is a tough one. I could go either way on this. One way is thought to be optimistic; the other is thought to be pessimistic. I think both are relatively neutral in their outlook. Both look at a glass as half-something. Isn’t that enough? I guess I need to take a side.

200458043-001If I have to choose, I suppose I choose that the glass is half-full. The glass was full of life. Some of life has been used up. That is particularly true in my case. More than half of my life has been used up and lived, usefully I hope, but I still have some of life left to go. So there is still life left to me to use wisely. This is the part of glass that is half-full, or in my case, maybe only a third full. (That sounds like not very much but that’s the reality of my life.)

Having the glass half empty sounds like life is ebbing away. And that’s not how I view life. Life does not ebb away. Life is to be lived every day. Life is full. There is so much to be done in life. I have my volunteer work with CASA and with my tutoring work with the children I read to at the elementary school. This work fills my days so that I’m never bored. I also read voraciously. I love to read. It consumes my day when I’m not working or walking the dogs or playing with them or visiting my granddaughters or daughter. Life is full for me. Life is not empty nor is it flowing away from me.

So for me, I would have to say the glass is half full. Life is full, even if the glass is only half full.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in The Glass and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt–The Glass

  1. granny1947 says:

    Good to hear you are so optimistic…today I am feeling the opposite…very unusual for me.

  2. The Hook says:

    Optimism rules!

Leave a Reply

