Daily Prompt–Key Takeaway


Give your newer sisters and brothers-in-WordPress one piece of advice based on your experiences blogging.

If you’re a new blogger, what’s one question you’d like to ask other bloggers?

I am not the most successful of bloggers. I have been blogging for over a year. More like a year and a half, I’d guess. Maybe two years. I have about 1,350 posts under my belt, so to speak. Most of those are responses to the Daily Prompt, or at least the ones in the past year have been, and the others are book reviews based on my Book Challenge to myself.

What is one piece of advice that I would give to new bloggers? I would tell new bloggers to write what you are comfortable writing about. If you want to write about your experiences in your life, write about them. Tell people about your life. Or tell them about your history.

Perhaps you have trouble getting started but want to write. You feel the need to write but don’t know how to get started. You might want to try your hand at the Word Press Daily Prompts. They give you are starting point for your writing. They give you a focus for your writing and start the creative juices flowing sometimes. Sometimes they aren’t so great but they might spark something else in you and you’ll find another post loosely based on the prompt, even if you don’t use it. I don’t always use the Daily Prompt, and at times (like yesterday) I wrote to the prompt and then decided it was too personal and then trashed it rather than hurt someone. Sometimes, I just can’t come up with something that addressed the prompt (like a playlist of music or quotes from movies) or I don’t want to do the prompt (like rewriting a previous post). And I skip it and publish one of my book reviews that I have waiting in the wings (I usually have a couple waiting to be published).

I write book reviews for my personal Book Challenge. I have challenged myself to read 150 books this year. When I finish a book, I find closure by writing a review of the book I have finished. I write a summary of the plot, list the characters, and tell if I liked the book and why. I do this for each book I have read. So far this year, I have published 62 book reviews. These reviews have received a good response from my blog readers. They seem to enjoy them. I always include a picture of the cover of the book as well. My Kindle Fire™ has a picture of the book cover and I like to include this for my readers. This feature has received many good comments.

The main thing, new bloggers, is to write what you are comfortable with and write what you want to write. I really want to write and don’t feel my life is sufficiently interesting to come up with a new post every few days on my own. But I am usually able to address the Daily Prompts. I need that spark that the Daily Prompt provides. And I like to write my Book Reviews. Each book provides the basis for my writing and since I usually like the book, they are easy to write. Even when I don’t like a book, I find I can express myself and tell what I didn’t like about the book in the book review. The point is to write what you like. If you don’t write what you like, the posts will become a chore. You can write about your kids, your pets, your running, your job, your life. Or you may want to use the prompts to help you get started. The point is to write.

Just write.

 

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Key Takeaway and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt–Key Takeaway

  1. My suggestion would be “Don’t Blog Angry.”

    But “Don’t ____Angry” is pretty much my advice for everything.

  2. MissFourEyes says:

    1,350 posts? Wow!
    ‘Just write’ is excellent advice. Don’t think about it, just go for it.

  3. The Hook says:

    “Just write.”
    Brilliant.

Leave a Reply

