Chocolate-Covered Strawberries. Bonsai Tree Seeds


Six Word Saturday

Six_Word_Saturday

Chocolate-Covered Strawberries. Bonsai Tree Seeds

This is another Six Word Saturday that is really a Mother’s Day version. Except these two entries arrived a bit before Mother’s Day. My daughter sent these two gifts to me this week as Mother’s Day gifts. They were very welcome surprises.

bonsai-treeThe Bonsai Tree Seeds were a complete surprise. A package arrived from Red Envelope, a company I like very much. There was no card and I thought perhaps she had sent it. I plan to plant the seeds today and see if I can have a go at getting them to grow and then finding the strongest one and teasing it into a strong tree.

chocolate-strawberriesThen on Thursday, the UPS truck pulled up and the dogs barked (my first alert system). I raced out to get my package and found a small package from Shari’s Berries. “Oh, goodie!” I thought. And sure enough. There were six luscious chocolate-covered strawberries in a box with a note from my daughter and her husband and my granddaughters.

Mind you, my daughter is in Mexico on Isla de Mujeres while these lovely gifts are being delivered so she had to have arranged all this before she went on vacation. I know she was busy at her office before vacation because they were moving the office while she was on vacation and she is always busy at home before she goes on vacation, so I don’t know when she had time to think about gifts for me. But she did, and I’m thrilled that she did. Thank you, Sabrina!

But Mother’s Day isn’t even here yet and it isn’t over. Sabrina is taking me to lunch tomorrow at noon. That will be really nice. After the two gifts, I wasn’t expecting it. But she texted last night when she returned from her vacation and asked if I’d like to go to lunch on Sunday. Of course I said yes. So we’re going to the Texas Land and Cattle Company early tomorrow for lunch because I like steak and don’t get it often. It will be nice to go with the family, all the ones I love. It will make Mother’s Day very special.

So I have had a lovely Mother’s Day so far. And it isn’t quite Mother’s Day yet. And I’ve only eaten two of the strawberries so far. I’m rationing them. I’ll plant the seeds today. And have a lovely lunch tomorrow. I’m one lucky mom.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Six Word Saturday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate-Covered Strawberries. Bonsai Tree Seeds

  1. The Hook says:

    You deserve nothing but the best, my lovely friend!

  2. adinparadise says:

    These look really delicious. Happy Mothers’ Day to you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

