Daily Prompt–Hi, Mom!


Today is Mother’s Day in the United States. Wherever in the world you are, write your mother a letter.

Photographers, share a photo that says mothering.

mothers_day_hearts_04

Dear Mom,

I know you aren’t here to celebrate Mother’s Day. I wish you were. I miss you very much. I still think about you nearly every day. I wish you could see Sabrina and what a remarkable young woman and mother she has become. I wish you could meet your great-granddaughters Jackie and Cassie. I wish you could meet your other great-grandchildren, too. Your grandchildren have married well and produced beautiful children. I know you would be so proud. But I also know that you are finally free from the horrible pain that you lived with in your final years and I’m glad of that. I would never want you to have to relive that. I hope that wherever you are, you can see us and watch us and know that we are doing well and know that I miss you more than words can say.

I know that we did not always get along. We had our difficulties. But in your later years we got along better. And that is what i focus on. It’s easy to dwell on the bad things, but it’s more important to remember that we went beyond the bad things and developed a good relationship when we both were older. I know things were difficult for you when we were growing up. The isolation must have been terrible. I can’t even imagine how hard it was for you to be stuck alone with three small children for weeks on end and no adult company. I would have become unhinged too. I know Dad was of little help. I don’t blame you for lashing out. I know we took the brunt of you anger, but I also know you couldn’t help it. I understand. You did the best you could under the circumstances.

You also did the best you could when I was a teenager. You followed your conscience. I didn’t agree with you, but I guess I respect your decisions. We just didn’t see eye-to-eye. Even when I was grown, we just had a different outlook on life. That’s okay. I can respect that. I love you. I know you loved me, despite our differences. You didn’t understand me, but you still cared about me. And I’m glad.

So, this letter is to you to tell you that I miss you and that I love you, even after all these years that you’ve been gone from my life. I wish you were still here. I look forward to seeing you again someday. I hope you are happy with Dad and your parents and sisters and brothers and are free from pain. And I hope you are waiting for me. I love you.

Your loving daughter.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Mom! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt–Hi, Mom!

  1. The Hook says:

    I’m crying – but in a good way!
    Thank you for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

