Daily Prompt–Unconventional Love


Over the weekend, we explored different ways to love. Today, tell us about the most unconventional love in your life.

Photographers, share a photo that says unconventional. 

Well, my example of unconventional love is not that all unconventional. It’s just not human.  It’s my love for my puppies, the lovely Ernie and Ralphy, my ubiquitous Japanese Chins. (Y’all are going to get very tired of seeing Ralphy and Ernie’s pictures in these posts.)

Japanese Chin Dog Breed Pictures 01Conventional love is love for human beings, in my book. I love my daughter and my granddaughters, my brother and sister, my japanese_chin_newnieces and nephews and their families, my aunts, my cousins, my friends. But my unconventional love has to be for my dogs. I love my two dogs, Ernie and Ralphy, with a passion. They are with me all day, every day. They are with me more than any human person. They are my constant companions.

My puppies know my moods. They can tell whether I’m happy or depressed and if I’m down, they always make an effort to cheer me up, in their own fashion. Ralphy is a master of getting into things. He can find so many ways to get into trouble; it’s absolutely amazing. I cannot keep up with his antics. Ernie is a gem. he rarely gets into any trouble. He is as good as gold. Except yesterday he managed to find a package of nuts that were meant for topping a sundae. I thought I had thrown them away, but he somehow managed to get to them and almost got them opened. That was the first naughty thing he’s done in a LONG time. Ralphy is another story. Ralphy does several naughty things a day. I’m used to it by now.

My guys are also an early warning system. They warn about many things. Barking and low-level growling (from Ernie) is their forte. They live to alert me to danger: from dogs who are outside, from people who are walking by my town home, from someone who is knocking at the door, from a car or truck that has stopped outside the town home, from a dog that is barking on the television. I am safe from all these dangers because I have wonderful dogs who let me know that there is danger on the horizon. How can I NOT give them greenies as a treat or bone treats? Do them not deserve some form of praise for the good work that they do for me, protecting me and saving me?

Ernie and Ralphy are also comfort dogs. In the evenings, when I lie on the couch watching television, Ralphy cuddles up at my feet and keeps my feet nice and warm. He’s my snuggle-bunny in the evenings. Then he goes to sleep in his crate for the night (so he doesn’t destroy the house at night) and Ernie and I go upstairs to bed. Ernie sleeps on my bed. He often sleeps at the end of the bed or sometimes on the extra pillow. He is the sweetest thing. Ralphy snores; Ernie doesn’t. I feel safe with Ernie sleeping next to me. When it’s time to get up in the morning, after I’ve finishing getting ready and doing my reading, I tell him, “Okay, Ernie. Time to go!” and he wakes up and bounces down the three stairs that lead down from my bed. He waits at the top of the stairs while I say my prayers in my prayer room, and then we go downstairs and go out. Then I release Ralphy and take Ralphy out. And we’re all ready to face the day.

So you can see that I really care very deeply for my two little guys. Ernie and Ralphy are so special to me. They are a large part of my life. They are with me all the time. I don’t know what I’d do without them. They are my unconventional love affair.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Unconventional Love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt–Unconventional Love

  1. MissFourEyes says:

    You’ve got some great dogs. Loving a dog is so different from other kinds of love. Plus, the little guys are so darn cute!

  2. judithhb says:

    Exactly the way I feel about my companion. I thought I would never replace the Lovely Miss Lotte and had no intentions of getting another dog but then came the Beautiful Miss Bella. How barren is life without our canine companions as I found out for a few weeks when I was without one. 🙂

  3. The Hook says:

    Your best friends are truly awesome indeed!

Leave a Reply

