Daily Prompt–The Interview


Interview your favorite fictional character.

I am of two minds about which fictional character I would like to interview. I have two favorite characters. Perhaps I’ll interview them both. That would solve the problem.

Interview I: Interview with Chief Inspector Armand Gamache the Head of Homicide of the Surȇté du Québec. (Author Louise Penny)

Me: Good Morning, Chief Inspector. Thank you for agreeing to do this interview. Which case so far has been the most difficult for you, personally, aside from the raid on the factory, which we know was a terrible thing for you both personally and professionally?

beautiful-mystery-coverlrgChief Inspector: The last case, The Beautiful Mystery, was very trying for me, as you know. We, Inspector Beauvoir and myself, were isolated in a remote Québec woods monastery and had to determine who committed the murder of the choir master of the community. But it was difficult for me personally because of the addiction to painkillers of Inspector Beauvoir and our struggle at the end of the case and the interference of Chief Superintendent Francoeur in Inspector Beauvoir’s medication. The Inspector needed treatment, not more medication and The Chief Superintendent enabled him instead. It was a sad situation.

Me: What has been the outcome of this situation? Have you and the Inspector reconciled?

Chief Inspector: Non. He has transfer from my section. We haven’t spoken since.

Me: That’s too bad. He was an excellent member of your team. We are looking forward to your next adventure. What can you tell us about that?

Chief Inspector: All I can tell you is that I return to Three Pines when Myra asks for my help. There are other changes to my team. Life is in turmoil for me.

Me: Oh No! Well, we look forward to your next adventure in August, Chief Inspector. Thank you for talking to us.

Chief Inspector: Merci.

Interview II: Interview with Flavia de Luce, the young British sleuth of Buckshaw Hall near Bishop’s Lacy. (Author Alan Bradley)

Me: Good morning, Miss de Luce. Thank you for agreeing to speak with me this morning. I enjoy reading about your adventures in chemistry and your encounters with dead bodies.

Flavia_on_Bike_Master_VectorsFlavia de Luce: Oh, please call me Flavia. Yes, I prefer to be known as a chemist. That is what I truly adore. My laboratory is my sancta sanctorum, you know. And thus far, i have had the opportunity to observe a total of five dead bodies. All for the sake of science, of course.

Me: Of course, for the sake of science. You are always very thorough in your observations of dead bodies. Much more thorough, I’d have to say, than Inspector Hewitt is usually. You seem to catch those clues that he overlooks, don’t you?

Flavia de Luce: Yes, I have been known to pick up the odd clue here and there and help out the local constabulary in their efforts. It’s my keen powers of observation, you see. And my innate curiosity.

Me: However, you also seem to get yourself into horrible predicaments with the killer of all these dead bodies. I’m referring to being held in the pit shed by Horace Bonepenny’s killer, of course. And then there was the episode on the roof of Buckshaw on Christmas Eve when you were attempting to ensnare Father Christmas and instead were trapped by Marion Trodd and Val Lampmann.

Flavia de Luce: Well, I do have a problem with confronting killers, I suppose. In the first instance you mention, I was fortunate to have Feeley and Dogger use Harriet’s car to rescue me. That was spectacular! And I couldn’t believe that Feeley actually helped to rescue me! It was almost as if we had made a truce! As you know, Daffy and Feeley and I rarely make truces. We are almost always at war with each other, though Daffy and I did make a truce at Christmas Eve that year. And yes, I was trapped on the roof with Marion Trodd and Val Lampmann, but as you will recall, my birdlime that I had used to stick Father Christmas caught Marion instead and then Val Lampmann slid off the roof. Somehow I manage to come through these encounters unscathed.

Me: You are amazing, Flavia! You figured out the murders in five cases with your skills of observation and the scientific method. And with your chemical skills you also manage to keep us entertained.

Flavia de Luce: I’m ever so glad. Thank you for the opportunity to speak to my fans.

Me: We anxiously await your next adventure, Flavia. Thank you.

Flavia de Luce: No, thank you.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in The Interview and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

