Book Challenge Update–70


I have read the 70th book for the book challenge. It was The Glass Rainbow: A Dave Robicheaux Novel by James Lee Burke.

Glass-Rainbow-Burke-James-Lee-9781439128312Dave Robicheaux’s daughter Alafair is involved with Kermit Abelard, of the rich landowning Abelard family headed by Timothy Abelard. Dave is not thrilled about the relationship. He thinks Kermit is shallow and self-serving.

Dave is drawn into an investigation of the deaths of some young women in the area. These young women have been tortured, it seems, and then their bodies were dumped. One was a runaway, and one was a scholarship student. He suspects that Kermit Abelard and his friend, ex-convict Robert Weingart, are somehow involved. He also suspects that Carolyn Blanchet, wife of Lambert Blanchet, is somehow involved in these murders. The murder of the scholarship student has to do with environmental issues, he knows.

Robicheaux’s friend Clete Purcell is under investigation for the murder of Herb Stanga, a pimp, but he has been set up by a sheriff’s deputy, a friend of Carolyn’s. Clete has been showing up just in time to save Robicheaux from certain death in several instances. Alafair breaks up with Kermit. Timothy Abelard is found murdered in his home. Carolyn’s husband Lambert Blanchet is also dead. Is a suicide or a murder?

Alafair is kidnapped by Kermit and Weingart. They take her to an old slave’s quarters and then to her home, where they also capture Dave and his wife Molly. They plan to torch the house. But Molly gets scissors and cuts her bonds and Dave’s. Dave is shot, but Clete is outside and kills the men outside the house. He manages to get in the house and frightens Kermit and Weingart away, but Clete is shot, too.

This was a very confusing book. I’m still not sure what really happened at the end. Did Clete die? I don’t know. I assume Dave survived, because he’s in the next book. What happened to Kermit and Weingart? Lord only knows. They escaped in the boat, I think. There was such a lot of ancillary stuff going on throughout the book, but I don’t know if the mystery of what actually happened to the girls every really was resolved or why Dave was attacked. As I said, this was a very confusing book. I liked it, but the outcome was not very satisfying.

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Book Challenge Update and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Challenge Update–70

  1. The Hook says:

    I love your honesty, old friend.
    Great review- again!

Leave a Reply

