Daily Prompt–Feed Your Senses


Write down the first sight, sound, smell, and sensation you experienced on waking up today. Pick the one you’re most drawn to, and write. (For a bigger challenge, pick the one you’re least drawn to.)

Photographers, show us one of the five senses — bonus points for depicting a smell!

Once again, you will be subjected to a photo of one of my puppies. That is because my first sight, sound, smell, and sensation (apart from the sound of the alarm clock buzzer sounding in my ear, which really doesn’t count) this morning was my darling Japanese Chin, Ernie. Ernie was lying next to me on the bed this morning when I woke up, then proceeded to drag himself off the bed, down the three-step stairway, and onto the floor next to the bed to wait for me to get up.

japanese_chin_newI did get out of bed, go into the bathroom, clean myself up, take my medicines, and come back to read the Qur’an for about 15 minutes before it is time to take Ernie for a walk. In the meantime, Ernie stays at his post next to the bed where I have to step over him on my way back to the bed where I sit and read. Ernie rests and breathes quietly. Sometimes he sighs gently . I can smell his little doggy smell. He has doggy breath. He needs to get his teeth cleaned.

When it’s time for prayers, I put my Kindle Fire™ away, gather it and my phone, and tell Ernie it’s time to go. We head out toward the prayer room loft at the top of the stairs. Ernie plops himself on the landing and I go into the prayer room loft to pray. Ernie waits patiently. When I’ve finished, I say to Ernie, “Okay, Ernie. Let’s go.” Ernie gets up and hops down the stairs.

I go into the kitchen and put out the dry dog food and water for the day. I prepare my fiber drink and take my anti-anxiety supplements. Then it’s time for Ernie to go out for his walk. We go out for about 15 minutes. Ernie loves his walk.

Japanese Chin Dog Breed Pictures 01When we come back, it’s time to spring Ralphy from his crate. Ralphy has been in his crate all night so he doesn’t destroy the house during the night. So now it’s time for Ralphy to go for his walk. I take Ralphy out for about 15 minutes. Ralphy loves his walk, too. He loves to sniff at every rock and stick he sees. He is such a goof.

When I bring Ralphy back, my two big boys get a doggy cookie each. These are little “bones” that are filled with marrow treats. They love these little “bones.” Now they are set of the day. They are ready for a nap, and I am ready to check my email on the computer and deal with my postcards on Postcrossing. That’s what I do first thing in the morning while the boys are napping. They are worn out from their walks.

So my first sight, smell, sensation, sound, are the dogs. More specifically, it’s Ernie who greets me first thing in the morning when I wake. First thing in the morning, every morning. It never fails. I love waking up to Ernie. What a wonderful little furry alarm clock!

About mairedubhtx

I am a "youngish" grandmother of 15 year old twin granddaughter who has recently (is a year "recent"?) adopted Islam as my way of life, much to the consternation of my family. I love to read. I love to write. I am writing a book about my decision to revert, about my spiritual journey. I have another blog about stories from my youth, my parents, and grandparents. It's a blog so my OCD daughter will not be able to throw it out when I die. I suffer from depression and anxiety, for which I am treated, so my posts may be a bit dark at times. C'est la vie.
This entry was posted in Feed Your Senses and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Daily Prompt–Feed Your Senses

  1. granny1947 says:

    They are too cute Maire. I agree…I don’t mind being woken up with doggy breath.

  2. The Hook says:

    I’ve said it before, your dogs rule!

Leave a Reply

